Adventure · book review · Myth · Romance · Young Adult

Book Review: Fate and Furies (Sphinx #4)

34306933Author: Raye Wagner
Format: eARC
Genre: Young Adult, Mythology
Publisher: Independent Publishing Paltform
ISBN: 
Date Published: June 29 2017
Number of Pages:
Grab Your Copy: Amazon


IMG_20160721_171259

The Olympian gods cause nothing but chaos…

Hope escaped the Underworld with her life, but her memories are as blank as the Book of the Fates she brought back. Still determined to break the curse, she and Xan take an offering to the Olympian temple to solicit the goddess Artemis for aid. But the petition has disastrous results, and now the gods are hunting her.

Athan sacrificed everything for Hope, but she’s leaving him behind to travel with Xan to Mount Olympus. But the closer they get, the more Athan’s mortality becomes a liability. Forced to seek refuge in mists and darkness, Athan tangles with deities that weave the very threads of fate. But these goddesses also wield the immortal blades that lay ruin to destinies.

With everyone she loves damaged or destroyed by the blood of Olympus, Hope must face the power of the past to change the fate of the future…

Fates and Furies is the fourth and final book in The Sphinx series.

fc1be-addtogoodreads


IMG_20160721_171325

THE WRITING. I love the wuting style of the author in this book. You can see the improvement on the writing of Raye Wagner since the first book in the series. I love the cliffhangers on every chapter because it kept me wanting for more and had me hooked til the very last page. I like how she wrote those moments of action, especially how she made us see the pettiness, obsessiveness and just asshole ways of how those Greek Gods can be. Amazing writing style and laying out of the plot and characters.

THE PLOT. My gosh, there’s an insane level of ups and downs of this book. We are now direct dealing with the Greek gods here and when I say Greek gods, I mean the lot of the Olympians. I always thought that any moment, a war will break out between the Olympians because of their level of petty and arrogance. I like the plot progression, the search of Hope, Athan, and Xan’s way into Olympus. I love how intense the book is because it literally had me at the edge of my seat and reading til I reach the end. I like how the plot was laid out and how the bound gods on the Underworld made a play on the unraveling of the fate of the characters fueled by Hope’s fury. See what I did there? Fate and Fury? Uhuh *wiggles eyebrows* LOL no.

THE CHARACTERS. This book made me love Xan, I liked him in the previous books but in this one I sort of fell in love with him! He’s like a guy who looks like he can kill you, can actually kill you but still a cinnamon roll. I felt bad for him the way his dad treats him and gosh in the the temple where he has to fight of his bro to death to be granted audience by Ares! And what Ares did to him! Xan made me cry so much in this book. Now let’s talk about Athan, he’s mortal now so it teared up mu heart when in the beginning of the book he was trying to keep up with Xan and Hope in the training and he ended up in the hospital. My baby 😭. I love how he fought for his love for Hope even in his mortal self and how he made his father see it. Oh and speaking of Athan’s dad, Hermes, he really did love Athan. What he did to his temple’s priests because of what they did to Athan and all he’s willing to do to protect him. Hermes may not be the best dad but he’s a good one especially to Athan.

Hope! She has grown so much, I love her drive when it comes to achieving her life mission. I cried at the part when she finally forgave her dad for leaving them. I was like “Girl you might not remember meeting him in the Underworld but thank the gods you finally forgave him”. I also like the moment when we go back to Goldendale and she connected with the people there like Mr. Stanley and Hayley. Another amazing amazing thing that happened to Hope? Her changes of appearances! Like my gosh, aside from the hair, she always got some awesome coloured eyes! I like how she found her powerful sisters and they kinda welcomed her in their circle because after that I was all like, ” Ah, the title made sense”😂. Any ways, I love the three so much! They made me cry, smile, laugh and feel all kinds of emotions especially in this book. I’m glad what happened to their fates in this book.

THE ENDING. It was just perfect and beautiful! It made me cry because of satisfaction and that special appearance at the end of the book! I so want more suddenly even though this is already the end of the series. Such lovely ending, thank you so much Raye Wagner! Also, you mentioned Dahlia, is there gonna be a spin off? Please?

Rating:
Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy

Leave a Reply

