Fantasy · High Fantasy · Romance

Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2)

acomaf-coverAuthor: Sarah J. Maas
Format: eBook
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
Number of Pages: 421
Date Published: May 5 2015
ISBN: 9781619634442
Grab Your Copy: Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Book Depository|IndieBound|Audible


IMG_20160721_171259

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

82c0a-addtogoodreads


IMG_20160721_171325

“To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”
Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Mist and Fury

This book is 100x better than the first one. Also, ACOMAF is one hell of a roller coaster ride of emotions. Sooo good! And smutty too! Who put this in the YA category?

tumblr_mwvg9wfPoX1qf735wo1_500

THE WRITING. Do I really have to describe SJM’s writing style? The only thing that I got to point out is that  this book is waaay better than the first one. There’s a lot of faults in the first book which is really slow on the pick up while this one, ACOMAF, swooped right in and griped me tight, not letting go til I got to the last page. Also, this book is so steamy and smutty that had me fanning myself for like so many times. Still wondering why this book is in the YA category on GOodReads and YA section on book stores.

THE PLOT. The plot progression is in a really nice pace, its not as slow as ACOTAR and its not fast-paced either. It just took its time to lay everything out (the agendas, and twists) before it all crashes down on the reader at the final chapters of the book. I like how its unpredictable compare to the first book which stick with the Beauty and the Beast theme of it. I also like the sexual tension between the characters for it has a really good chemistry on it and it was developed under all the heists and scheming that’s been happening.

THE CHARACTERS. I love the shifts the characters had in this book. The ones that I have warring feelings in the first book, well, I’ve settled for one feeling towards them and its all love (looking at you Rhys). I love the development of the characters of this book, I’m continuing on my growing love and respect towards Nesta. There are so many new characters introduced in this book like Rhys’ inner circle who has their own unique and remarkable characteristics that I can’t help but love. See how many times I’ve used the word “love”? well I really did loved all of them and Feyre’s development just made me want to cry for she goes from utterly broken to slowly regaining her strength of character. I like how we also get to know and discover more of Rhysand’s person, he went from such a sketchy character on the first book to a well loved and total sinnamon roll

14859124

Also, if I’ve grown to love some characters, there are those I’ve grown to hate. My undecided feelings toward Rhys on the first book was transferred to Tamlin and Lucien. Lucien, I know he’s just following orders and have this blind loyalty thing going on but Tamlin. My gosh what an ass. Seriously, someone needs to teach that guys some common courtesy and give him some lessons in reading a woman’s actions like grrr… I so wanted to shake some sense into that guy, like; man, take a damn hint! He and Feyre could’ve build each other up but what did he do? pretend to be asleep while her fiance was throwing up and suffer PTSD alone. no wonder Tamlin and Feyre had some falling out, Rhysand just proved to be a hundred times better version of a man than him [Tamlin]. There’s also that Suriel who I am guessing to be the biggest Feysand shipper and Feyre’s low key bff, I kinds like her. Also, Ianthe, someone need to get rid f that psycho bitch. I mean every time she has a screen time I was all like:

NoMore

THE ENDING. It had me freaking out! I actually thought Feyre and Rhys are going to be ripped apart but thank the gods they are not. It was really insane! My gosh Lucien, man I did not see that one coming. I really hope that on the next book these characters who I’ve grown to dislike on this book would have a redemption moment (Yes, I still have hopes for Tamlin) and also, bad ass HIGH LADY OF THE NIGHT COURT b*tches!

19019377

Rating:
Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy - Copy

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2)

Leave a Reply

