book review · Fairy Tale Retelling · Fantasy · Romance · Young Adult

Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR #1)

16096824Author: Sarah J. Maas
Format: eBook
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
Number of Pages: 421
Date Published: May 5 2015
ISBN: 9781619634442
Grab Your Copy: Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Book Depository|IndieBound|Audible


IMG_20160721_171259

Feyre is a huntress.

She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…

Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyre’s feeling for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.

Feyre must find a way to break a spell, or lose her heart forever.

82c0a-addtogoodreads


IMG_20160721_171325

“Because your human joy fascinates me—the way you experience things, in your life span, so wildly and deeply and all at once, is … entrancing. I’m drawn to it, even when I know I shouldn’t be, even when I try not to be.”
Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

Phew! This book! I would say its Rated PG-13 because of all those sexy times that still has me flushing every time it crosses my mind.

14859126

THE WRITING. I like book but it didn’t hooked me eventually the way SJM’s Throne of Glass series did. It had enough of intrigue on it that had me going on reading. I like how intricate and vivid she have woven the story of a simple fairy tale to a high fantasy book that had me flushing in some pages. Oooh what the hell. I like the detailed way Sarah wrote the scenes and the arcs. There maybe some foreshadowing bone thrown at there too regarding the mating and marriage. The world building the fantastic, the world rules are nicely established that once I got a full grasp on, it sucked me right in.

THE PLOT. It stayed true to Beauty and the Beast fairy tale that it was inspired on but made few lovely modifications in the tale as old as time as the author throws in politics and wars. I love how Sarah just made me loved the Faeries in her books. 

THE CHARACTERS. Oh Feyre, she’s one hell of a human. Can we talk about how strange her name is? SRSLY. Wow, I love her so much. I like how she remain strong and endured all the hardships that she has been through in the mortal realms and how she kept on fighting and wanting to go back to her awful family just so she could take care of them. She’s just such a strong heart and amazing personality that I just love how she wanted to be saved and taken care of but instead she’s the one who did the saving but not herself. Feyre’s character is quite opposite the beloved Belle from the Tale as old as Time while as Belle maybe a bookworm, Feyre is an illiterate. Her [Feyre] refusal to learn how to read annoyed me so much because there was this one time where it almost killed her. But to compensate on Feyre’s lack of love towards written words, she is an artist. She loves to paint has her own catalog of colors in her brain. I love her growth as a character.

Okay I just love love Tamlin. He’s the “Beast” of this faerie tale retelling but with the masked pretty face not the beastly physique. I like how he’s so awkward with Feyre when I was trying to complement, its like he’s grasping on the straws on how to woo a human woman. Oh my gosh, that Calamnai event holy gosh, that is like more hotter that when he and Feyre finally got into it. The only downside that I saw in him is that he just sat there. Seriously bro, start making some damage because your girl is doing her own just to save your ass. But still, it makes me squeal so much every time Tamlin and Feyre have their moments together especially on the Summer Solstice celebration. Just… so cute and lovely. Like #RelationshipGoals

14859124

I like Lucien a lot, more than I like Tamlin. I even considered thought that he and Feyre is a possibility. I like how he was just there dealing with Feyre and giving her hints how to catch a Suriel and healing her. As for Feyre’s sisters, Nesta and Elain, I like the arc of their characters (Well most Nesta). The first few chapters of the book after I’ve met them I was so pissed of at them for they were Feyre’s elder sisters and they didn’t even make a move on helping her or anything. When Feyre came back to mortal lands and found out what Nesta did to get Feyre back, there might be a little speck of hope that I’ll grow to like her.

Rhysand. Ugh Rhysand! I don’t what to feel towards him because one second ha was all so douche-y and the next he was helping Feyre and betting on her. Then there was the bargain that he struck with Feyre after healing her arm and making her because of the bargain. What the heck, did you marked her out of spite towards Tamlin? I still have warring feelings towards him, like some love-hate relationship. I’m hoping to get to know him more in the following books and what kind of agendas he’s got.

THE ENDING. It was fulfilling, when the High Lords heal Feyre darling and  when they got back to the Spring Court. It’s like the usual “and the lived happily ever after” ending of every fairy tale book but this one’s got a “wait there’s more”. I feel like Feyre’s broken because of the tasks that she have to go through under the mountain cause she stopped cataloging colors. Also, what the heck was that with Rhysand? He started like the villain-y type of guy and then there he goes pulling his bargain’s bond with Feyre to say goodbye. There’s more to unravel in the next book and I’m so looking forward to get my hands on it.

Rating:
Ratings - Copy (4)

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR #1)

    1. He’s definitely got that mystery and allure. Mine is Nesta, I hated her but after learning what she did for Feyre, I grew some respect towards her person😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

