book review · Fantasy · High Fantasy · Romance · Young Adult

Book Review: Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)

18006496Author: Sarah J. Maas
Format: eBook
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
Number of Pages: 648
Date Published: September 1 2015
ISBN: 9781619636040
Grab Your Copy: Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Book Depository|IndieBound|Audible


IMG_20160721_171259

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series continues Celaena’s epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

82c0a-addtogoodreads


IMG_20160721_171325

“She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood and survival and triumph.”
Sarah J. Maas, Queen of Shadows

This book is just spectacular! A master piece, this book is. Also, SJM is probably feasting now in the tears and feels of her readers because of this book… just amazing.

Emma-Booklandia14

THE WRITING. It was over all fantastic! If on the ‘Heir of Fire’ I didn’t much like the too detailed explanation, in the ‘Queen of Shadows’ I loved it. It epicness overload with all the surprising moments and epic escape plans and rescue missions and insanely dark villainous schemes! It’s also more bloody and ruthless. I mean, two chapters in and we have one hell of bloody establishment in our hands that reek of vengeance and message. The book written in multiple perspectives, there are new characters introduced (Elide, Nesryn, Lysandra), and we get to see from their POV. What I didn’t get a good grasp on is the ules of procreation of the witches. They are all females and basing on Asterin’s tale of witchlings, I don;’t get how these witches came to be in the world since half witches are stillborn. SO I’m hoping that it will get discussed more in the next book since there’s a new ship brewing in the distance, you know, some witch whose starting to grow a heart and set her eyes on some man… I also liked how the writer is subtly sending the message on how artists are essential on the world.

THE PLOT. There’s so much scheming and planning! Especially Aelin’s stupidly clever plans that we didn’t get to know until it was staring right at us in the face. There is so much happening and I was just here flipping the pages on to the next one. The search for the Wyrdkeys is still on, so is the fight for freedom and Dorian, amd more horrors introduced to us courtesy of the king’s evil palns on conquering not just Erilea but also the other realms! I like the way the rebels tried to save all of the suspected past magic wielders from the hands of the king and his guards, I like the part where Aelin and Aedion was finally reunited. This book is just utter perfection! It had me screaming like a crazy person, I like the pace of the plot progression where it captures the reader’s attention.Also, that revelation the King of Adarlan dropped just as that damn glass castle dropped. Holy crap. This piece of literature. Just, WOW!

dbea47f379d8aa878312fb322bf3fcf7

THE CHARACTERS. Girl power bitches! Yaasss! So in this book, Celaena Sardothien have finally embraced her identity as Aelin Ashryver Galathynuis. She doesn’t use her alias as Celaena anymore and even in the first Aelin chapter Sarah was all like “Aelin, Aelin, Aelinn…” She such a different person now in this book, more mature, smart, and calculative. I love her character development so much! I’m also assuming that we’re gonna be calling her Aelin from now on after she fully embraced that part of her self. There are also new female characters introduced in this book like Nesryn Faliq, the rebel who is just super bad ass with a bow and arrow and Lysandra.
Oh my gosh Lysandra! I like how she and Aelin developed their friendship by sharing a common enemy, though I’m having a hard time trusting her at first because she can get in Aelin’s apartment without being detected even with Fae senses. I liked Lysandra a lot (please don’t kill her!).
As for the common enemy, we’re talking about that shit ass, creepy Arobynn Hamel. I was so looking forward on meeting this King of Assassin’s guy but now that it finally happened I was so crept out by the way he looked at Aelin. Like a lover. Seriously man, you’re like what? In your early thirties. What the crap. Gotta admire him with his cunning though.

Aedion Ashryver, that baby! I like him so much though I felt bad for him after he found out the truth about the blood-oath the only he is supposed to swear on Aelin. But I loved how he fanboyed over Rowan after learning the Rowan and Aelin are friends, the even though he kinds hated him from a short period of time, he still respected him as a warrior and still try to impress him. Also, I’m so excited to find out what is to happen to him in the next book after we found out his real parentage.
Chaol Westfall, he’s seemed like a bitter assed dude from the first half of the book! Argh! He’s all bitter towards Aelin and how he just point his finger towards her claiming it’s all her fault, what the hell bro? But I’m glad he got passed that and he grew to trust Aelin more. Though I felt bad for him because I bet my ass he waited for Celaena to come back. her parting words being “I’d always pick you.”
Manon Blackbeak, I like her character development so much! I didn’t like her before and kept wishing her dead but the way she grows as a character is really amazing and how she learns to love and care for others. I like her.
Rowan Whitethorn, we can’t ignore how effing sexy this Fae Prince is! Oh my gosh! I deffo ship him with Aelin, I like how we get to know more about him and and his past. I really liked the part where Aelin gave him a little tour and they wound up in the theater where Aelin played the piano for him and he was in tears. Its just so beautiful that we get to see the soft side of a warrior hardened by centuries of wars and battles he endured. I like how he talk dirty too. He’s so hot he can melt me into a puddle.
Dorian Havilliard, holy crap we need to talk about Dorian! It hurt my hear so much when he was trapped inside his own body and he’s all like “This girl, I know her but I can’t remember her name” and the “I can’t remember my name” because oh gods he didn’t deserve that thing to happened to him! He’s one of the purest character in this book he deserve something better! He’s been through a lot and I was just so proud of him for showing that strength to seize control of his own body and honing his power into freeing himself. Still, after everything else, they shouldn’t have left him there alone in the castle without his closest friends and expect him to pick up the broken pieces to reestablish his broken kingdom. He’s still recovering fro PTSD and he needed someone. Well he got one, I guess. We’ll find out in the next book.
Emma-Booklandia1

THE ENDING. HOLY. CRAP. Uber epicness and awesomeness overload! Its like its the most insane part of the book! Aelin and Dorian bring down the roof! So did Kaltain! I can’t believe I hated that bitch in Throne of Glass. I am so looking forward in the next boom and see how Aelin is gonna reestablish her kingdom and gather her court. Still that epic battle and show of magic/power in the glass castle set the bars on the oncoming onslaught of the upcoming books. 

Rating:
Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy - Copy

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)

Leave a Reply

