book review · Fantasy · High Fantasy · Romance · Young Adult

Book Review: Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)

Author: 17167166Sarah J. Maas
Format: eBook
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
Number of Pages: 418
Date Published: August 27 2013
ISBN: 9781619630628
Grab Your Copy: Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Book Depository|IndieBound|iTunes|Audible


IMG_20160721_171259

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

82c0a-addtogoodreads


IMG_20160721_171325

“The best lies were always mixed with truth.”
Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight

Before anything else…
Emma-Booklandia9

THE WRITING. The writing is amazing for the fact that it eventually pulled the reader back into the world of Throne of Glass. I liked how some of the things that got me so curious in the first book got more explained in this installment. I also like how well detailed the descriptions and the scenes in this book are. After reading the book, I have no idea how to get back to my life unless I finish reading the whole series. It’s that good. The way the book is written pulls the reader in and grips you and would never let you go. You read and after you finish reading the book, you feel disoriented on which is reality.
50479-felicia-day-is-this-real-life-84rr

THE PLOT. Holy crap is all I can say right now. I love how all the pieces are placed in order and how everything have played out. Shit just went down and now I don’t know what to do except go and grab the next installment. I was happy, I was hurt… my gosh, Maas really knows how to shatter her readers by putting everything in motion in this book. The romance in flowered beautifully but is quite short-lived and now I’m hurting. There was enough preview on the horrors that we might face in the upcoming books and the silver of hope in the end in just enough to drive a reader crazy and eager for the next book.

THE CHARACTERS. It is so freaking bad ass and emotional and insane I’m having a hard time taking it all. Celaena Sardothien, I love the part where we get to see the assassin that she was before Endovier and how she has that killing calm before any assassination happened because in the first book she was holding back because she was told to. In this book I was  waiting for the event that made her gain her reputation as Adarlan’s Assassin come out and holy hell she was scary when she’s exhibiting her skills learned from the King of Assassins. Chaol Westfall, his character development in this book is really good so is his relationship development with Celaena (broom closet, really?). I like how we get to see the soft side of his and the history that his got with his family for we got to meet his father. What hurt me the most is when Chaol, the fiercest and strongest Captain Guard there ever is, had his heart broken and ended up sobbing. I like how smart he is in figuring things out about the person that is Celaena Sardothien that shows how he paid enough attention on her.  Dorian Havilliard, Okay that I did not see coming on his part. I was so surprised and so curious that made me so excited on the next book to get to know more of his character and find out things about who he really is or more on who he’s becoming. I like how strong his character is, hoe he tried to move on from his past relationship with Celaena and how his backbone is growing as he opposed his father’s brutal ideals. I love the characters of this book, I like how strong Nehemia is and how accepting she is of her fate. The character development on this book is exceptional because the more I read the more I get attached. 

THE ENDING. Seriously?! My gosh, I saw it coming. I guessed it so I’m not so surprised when that bomb dropped but watching the character’s reaction. When the realization dawned on him it was all of I can do not to scream on the top of my lungs “I NEED THE NEXT BOOK NOW!!!”. So BRB cause I’m off reading Heir of Fire. My gods SJM, what have you done to me. I cried, maybe not so hard but the emotions that have been building up in my chest throughout the whole book…

supernatural

Rating:
Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy

Leave a Reply

