book review · Fiction · Gothic · Historical · Thriller · Young Adult

Book Review: Stalking Jack the Ripper

stalkingjacktheripper_coverAuthor: Kerri Maniscalco
Format: eBook
Genre: Young Adult, Historical, Thriller
Publisher: Jimmy Patterson
ISBN: 9780316273497
Date Published: September 20 2016
Number of Pages:326
Grab Your Copy: Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Book Depository|IndieBound|Indigo


IMG_20160721_171259

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

82c0a-addtogoodreads


IMG_20160721_171325

“Oh? Where in medical dictionary does it say that a woman cannot handle such things? I what is a man’s soul made of that the woman is not?” I teased “I had no idea that my innards are composed of cottons and kittens, while yours were filled with steel and steam driven parts”Kerri Maniscalco, Stalking Jack the Ripper

Okay, two words; Thomas Cresswell. We’ll talk about him later.

My gosh, this book is pure Victorian woman awesomeness and badassery with a touch of femininity! Made me feel bad I didn’t pick the book up the moment I saw it on Instagram. See a gif that totally fits my reaction after reading the book below:

Emma-Booklandia14

THE WRITING. I love the writing! It was captivating, intense, and really has the reader hooked til the end of the book. There was a foreword in in beginning of the book from James Patterson that says it captured his attention because of its uniqueness (or something like that) and he was so right! I liked the book the moment I read that title for I’m always quite fascinated with serial killers and their methods of killing (don’t judge), maybe because of too much Creepy Pasta. So when I saw Stalking Jack the Ripper I just have to read it. I like how the writer stayed historically accurate while she makes little alterations to fit the story. Its really fascinating, the writer is a genius in how she created her characters and unravel the plot. The writing is also sassy, delightful and zealous that had me reading the book til 12mn.

THE PLOT. The book’s plot development is marvelous, I would’ve said that its is fast-paced but it took it’s time to progress and reveal the most juicy deets to the reader. I like how the writer humanized a historically remarkable serial killer by giving him deeper motive more scientific than just cleaning the streets of London off whores becuase he’s a religious zealot. It’s really good and interesting concept. A pat on the back to Kerri Maniscalco. Oh and when she dropped that bomb on who Jack the Ripper is… HOW ABOUT NO! I like that character, why you manipulative human? Why does it have to be him? I’m choosing to ignore the deed that’s already been done.

6c7aae1f1d2e121be733293ad2225b4e

THE CHARACTERS. I am in love with the characters of this book! Every character in this book is very well developed, they have their own agendas to attend to, their own light and dark sides and each have a mystery that coats their person. The story might be told through the point of view of Audrey Rose but we still have some mystery to unravel about her character. I like Audrey Rose so much because even though the career that she pursue is not the ideals one for a female in that century she is still strong enough to stand her ground and go after what she wants. I love how she’s not like the usual strong female characters that I encounter who drops all the notions of femininity and took on boyish stance but Audrey Rose… well let’s just say she still have time time to go dress shopping and attend tea parties while investigating a series of murders and flaying bodies open. She’s the embodiment of a feminist in a century where the gender roles are to be abided to be deemed proper. Thomas Cresswell *sighs* he’s just, too perf! I love him, like seriously;
tumblr_mtl6drRd9V1sigzaro1_500
I love the banter between him and Audrey Rose, the air of mystery around him and his genius arrogance. He’s perfect and he knows it ha! But he knows how to acknowledge an opinion more valid than his unless he can make his more valid than the next person. Its also a great move on how we can’t just simply trust any men that is presented to us in this book because every guy could be a potential serial killer and we don’t want to have our hearts broken for loving that character.I love the character development of the daddy Wadsworth, holy crap, and the best one is Nathaniel’s because whoa… what am I saying? Just read the book you guys and I assure you you’ll love everyone. Well, nearly everyone.  

THE ENDING. The ending of the book is so satisfying, we could’ve just stopped there you know, but wait! There’s more. I like how everything turned out okay despite the tragic events that happened when Kerri dropped that bomb. There’s a second book coming which means more Audrey Rose awesomeness and more Thomas Cresswell *shimmies*. Do I need to say more aside from suggesting that YOU GUYS READ THIS BOOK NOW! And asking for the next book to be in mah hands.

Rating:
Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Stalking Jack the Ripper

Leave a Reply

