book review · Fantasy · Myth · Romance · Young Adult

Book Review: Myths of Immortality

29412228Author: Raye Wagner
Format: eBook
Genre: Young Adult, Mythology
Publisher: Independent Publishing Paltform
ISBN: 9781542366571
Date Published: January 12 2017
Number of Pages:388
Grab Your Copy: Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Book Depository


IMG_20160721_171259

In the realm of the dead, there are no lies.
Hope Nicholas is desperate to believe that the truth will set her free from the bindings of Apollo’s curse. But to get the truth, she must travel to the Underworld, a feat near impossible for the living. The gods there have their own agendas and, forced to forge alliances with the most unlikely allies, Hope will find that death is not the worst torment of the Underworld.

Athan Michael spent months chasing Hope, only to have her disappear once again. And when he discovers her destination, he knows the treacherous journey to the Underworld is one he cannot take alone. Forced to put aside his past with Xan and Dahlia, the three demigods embark on their own quest. But the past will not stay buried, and Athan must decide how much he’s willing to sacrifice to help Hope break the curse.
Told in dual points of view, Myths of Immortality is a tense, action-packed story that will leave you begging for the next installment of The Sphinx series.

82c0a-addtogoodreads


IMG_20160721_171325

This book series just keeps getting better and better! It maybe took me a few chapters to dive in again into the world of the story but once I got a grasp again I breezed through the book.

THE WRITING. The writing is good, its intense and gripping, though like what I’ve said earlier it took me a while to fully dive back in the world. I like how there’s a cliffhanger on every chapter since the book was told in two POVs, Hope’s and Athan’s and had be flipping just so I can know what happened next after the past Hope/Athan chapter. I like that style a lot, for it makes the intensity of what comes next for this character more thrilling.

THE PLOT. Oh my gosh! I love love love the plot development and progression of this book especially on how the Fates got a big play on it the whole time they are in the Underworld. It was kind of intense that got my heart pounding in my chest while I was reading because aside from these gods having their own agendas and plans with our beloved Hope, they are in the Underworld which is a different realm with different rules all over. But oh, when everything unraveled especially the history of Hope and her parents I was all like, “Awww yisss!”. If not for that Thanos, everything would’ve been okay!

THE CHARACTERS. I love the characters of this book and how they all have grown. I don’t really buy into some love triangle but this I gotta give a great thumbs up because even if Athan, Hope, and Xan have their romantic struggles they didn’t let it shadow their mission on (Hope) getting the answer on breaking the curse and (Athan and Xan) getting a friend out of the Underworld. Priska! Oh gosh, she is one of the purest and most genuine characters in the book for she would always think first of helping Hope and giving her what she needed the most at the moment even if that requires a sacrifice from her. The moment that we walk in the realm of the dead I got this strong feeling that we can trust no one because everyone’s got a hidden agenda. Grrr! Thanos! I am so annoyed at him but at the same time I pitied him and quite thanksful he found Hope, mixed feelings for this god literally. I mean, who wouldn’t have mixed feelings about death? He’s unpredictable. I have to admire the character development of Hope and how she grows stronger and smarter in every book. I’m glad to find out the history of this rift in the friendship of Athan and Xan. All in all, I like the characters of this book, Hades is still a manipulative ass, but I love how smart all of the characters are.

THE ENDING. Here’s what I gotta say about the ending: “Gimme the next book!”. I love it, I love the conclusion (for now) of Hope and Athan’s ship (Ha! What’s their ship name?) I like how we got something to look forward too, I just… Love love it!

Rating:

Ratings - Copy (4)

Leave a Reply

