Author Q&A

Author Q&A: J. Kowallis

About the Author

13062383_1695573474046760_6527963962237067315_n

J. Kowallis grew up in northern Utah, graduated from Weber State University’s creative writing program, and lives in Utah with her Mini Schnauzer, Etta. She enjoys dreaming about, flying to, and writing about distant lands (real or unreal).

Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Good Reads

Click on the thumbnails bellow to have a preview of her books on Good Reads

image.png

Afterimage Encender

Check out the latest installment of her dystopia series, ‘The Enertia Trials’

banner2

30301938 Trust No One.
In this world, nothing is as it seems . . .

Reggie’s visions turn to horrifying hallucinations. For weeks she’s tortured with starvation and nightmares that vex her resolve. Her only companion is a mysterious shadow—a figure with no shape, no substance—that seems to have a mind of its own. It’s a presence that prickles her memories and plants a feeling of familiar dread in her mind.
Where she is, she doesn’t know, and the organization delving into her mind is more threatening than ever before.

With the help of shady contacts from his past, Nate struggles to travel half way around the world, facing his own demons and dreadful revelations. But when a stranger joins the team, the duality of this newcomer’s actions sets everyone on edge, leading them through a trial one of them . . . will not survive.

The book will be out on November 18th 2016

82c0a-addtogoodreads


I thank J. Kowallis for giving me a chance to have a Q&A with her ans squeeze me into her busy schedule, she’s such an amazing and lovely person I am very honored to have this chance of interacting with her so without any further a do, here it goes…


TB: What’s your inspiration in writing the Enertia Trials series?
J: I really wanted to write a dystopian series as it’s a topic I love reading and thinking about – you know, what could the future become due to our human flaws? But the first image I had in my mind was the image of a woman imprisoned because of her ability to see the future. I’m kind of a “closet” superhero nerd so mixing dystopian and super powers just seemed like the perfect combo!
TB: Can you describe your books in 10 words?
J: It’s a bloody, dark, and painful glance into the future.
TB: How much research did you do for your book?
J: Well, I have this friend who can see the future, so I asked her a lot of questions;) ha ha. Of course, that’s not true AT ALL. But, I did a little bit of research as I looked at current political climates, and such. I also had to research how to gut a deer (as I’d NEVER done that before) because Nate ends up doing that in the second chapter of Afterimage. Just bits and pieces here and there. Mostly, if I didn’t know, I either researched . . . or made it up:) FYI, most of the drugs used in the series are completely fabricated. 
TB: Which writers inspire you?
J: I’ve said this a lot, but I love Charlotte Bronte. As far as modern authors, I love what many of my Indie colleagues are doing, both in terms of writing and promotion. I look up SO much to Aldous Huxley who wrote A Brave New World back in 1931 about a society bred using . . . genetic engineering. I mean, that was 1931! It’s amazing to me. 
TB:What is the hardest thing about writing your latest book, Duality?
J: I’m going to try and state this without giving too much away, but one of the hardest things I struggled with was hinting to the reader about a plot twist without being too vague or giving too much away. I’m kind of a geek about making my reader think one thing, when really something else is going on. In fact, there’s been one HUGE underlying plot twist since the beginning of Afterimage which finally rears its head in Duality and it was something I worked on a lot. Especially with the help of my writer’s group. 
TB: Do you ever get writer’s block? If yes, how do you deal with it?
J: *Laughs* All the time. I know some people don’t really believe in Writer’s Block, and maybe what I get isn’t really a “block” as it is “uninspiration.” I can sometimes go months without actually doing any writing. And then all of a sudden, it’s as if I get this huge spike of enthusiasm and I’ll write upwards of 50,000 words in a week. It’s during those times that I’m “blocked” that I’ll listen to new music. I’ll watch new movies, or read new books. Doing those things helps me to feel more creative and gives me new ideas. 
TB: What is your favourite motivational phrase?
J: One concept I’m constantly reminding myself of is “Choose Happiness.” A perfect quote that, I feel, outlines this the best is by a favorite man of mine. His name is Harold B. Lee. He said: “Happiness does not depend on what happens outside of you, but on what happens inside  of you; it is measured by the spirit with which you meet the problems of life.”
TB: Can you give us a little bite in what to expect in Duality?
J: All I feel I should really say is right on the back of the book: In this world . . . nothing is as it seems.
But, in saying that, I know you probably want more:) Nate is going to struggle. A lot. Roy and Ransley kind of find out that just because you’re MFEO (made for each other), it’s not going to spare you the trouble of making things work out. Additionally . . . I know some people are going to love this . . . but London’s back!
TB: If your books are to be adapted as a movie or a TV show, who are the actors can you picture playing the roles of Reggie, Nate, Ransley and Roy?
J: For Nate . . . hands down, the love of my life: Henry Cavill. I mean, he doesn’t know it yet, but he’s my OTL. 😉 For Ransley, I definitely see Odette Annable. For Roy, I’ve always seen a Ben Barnes type, but Ben’s not really the perfect fit (but you get the idea). Reggie, for some reason, has always been a hard one for me to pin down. I’ve yet to see an actress that I think really epitomizes her. The closest might be Allison Williams. 
TB: Can you please share with us your top 5 favourite TV shows?
J: Right now? Or of ALL TIME? 🙂 I’ll go with a mixture:
      1. Poldark (trust me . . . Aiden Turner)
      2. Call the Midwife
      3. Chuck
      4. F.R.I.E.N.D.S.
      5. Alias
TB: Lastly, do you have any advice to give the aspiring writers?
J: Just do it. If you want to, just do it. If there’s something holding you back, you’re not alone. Every author, I think, has felt that gut-wrenching nervousness and fear. Make sure that the effort you put into it is your absolute best. And most importantly: BE OPEN TO CRITICISM. It’s there to make you a better writer. It’s not (always) an attack on you or your “baby” unless you choose to make it so. 

And there you go! Have you read The Enertia Trials? If yes, share your thoughts about the series in the comments and let’s discuss; if not, what are you waiting for? Go grab your copy now!

Danissa
One thought on “Author Q&A: J. Kowallis

Leave a Reply

