book review · Contemporary · Romance · Young Adult

Book Review: The Unexpected Everything

17838528 Author: Morgan Matson
Format: Paperback
Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult, Romance
Number of Pages: 519
Date Published: May 3 2016


IMG_20160721_171259

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?


IMG_20160721_171325

“If whole galaxies could change, so I could I. ”

The Unexpected Everything is a fun, cute and memorable read. It has its summery vibes that makes it very impossible not to fall in love. I like how it explores different aspects in one’s life like the romance, friends and most especially, family. When this TUE was released there is so much hype surrounding the book so I started to build my expectations high before I get to read the book, I mean… Its set on the summer time and there are dogs involved and its a Morgan Matson book after all, what’s not to love? But at some point, those expectations of mine wasn’t met because it’s kind of predictable.

So here’s what I love about Matson’s TUE:

Clark’s nerdy shirts! I eventually loved his character when he was first introduced all because he was wearing a Star Wars shirt, plus he’s sooo romantic and gentlemanly… I just, wow, I need a Clark McCallister in my life.

The relationship development between Andie and her dad. They bonded during the summer and Alex and Andie being reminded what is actually important and how they used to have fun together. I love the father-daughter bonding of the two especially their movie marathons.

I like the friendship of Andie, Palmer, Bri and Toby. Made me wish I have lady friends who is down with whatever the hell. I also felt bad when there became a strain at their relationship especailly in Bri and Toby’s! But give enough thought,  I think it’s okay at some point because they need to find themselves  and go their own ways *cue “I Gotta Go My Own Way” song*. Morgan, you need to write a book about what comes next with the friendship of these ladies most especially ToBri’s.

I love how the characters of her book “Since You’ve Been Gone” appeared in this book (we’ they’re in one universe after all) and we found out that Dawn and Emily’s friendship have smoothed out. I also like the foreshadowing of Clark and Andie’s relationship with the little saga of Karl and Marjorie.

Love the book! I recommend you guys to read this because Clark has the best and most romantic book signing event ever!

Speaking of book signing events… I got a chance to meet Morgan Matson last September 18 2016 at the Manila International Book Fair!

14330036_1398911376805550_2889392471394924450_n
I call this “The Happy Hug”

Rating:
Ratings - Copy (3)

82c0a-addtogoodreads

Purchase your copy of The Unexpected Everything
download (2)
downloaddownload (1)download

Leave a Reply

