Adventure · book review · Fantasy · Fiction · High Fantasy · Myth · Oftomes publishing · Romance · Young Adult

Book Review: Inherited (Curse of VIII #1)

27991136Author: Freedom Matthews
Format: eARC
Date Published: July 12 2016
Number of Pages: 347
Publisher: Oftomes Publishing
Genres: Adventure, Young Adult, Romance


SynopsisIf saying ‘I love you’ meant death, would you still say it?

The Wilted Rose, of faery-tale and folklore, is a pirate ship filled with unfortunate souls-each forbidden to love. One such soul is Valencia ‘Lennie’ Roux. Raised in a brothel and an heir to a curse; Lennie never expected to pique the interest of any man. Yet with the arrival of vivid-eyed Nathaniel, she is torn between wanting to know him better and fearing what that knowledge would mean.

With Nathaniel bringing the crew’s total to six, the Wilted Rose sets off in search of the remaining two heirs. They hope that in reuniting, they will convince the faery Sorceress responsible for the curse, to end it. However lurking beneath the water is a long standing enemy of the Wilted Rose; who is determined to thwart their quest and bring down its leaders.

Together the eight heirs fight for survival, friendship and love.


My review

Okay, first of all, I just want to let you guys know that I received an eARC of this book from Oftomes in exchange of an honest review of the book. Since the book is yet to be released, the review is going to be spoiler free.

Inherited by Freedom Matthews is one amazing, one-hell-of-an-adventure, and romantic read. I love the world of the book and the characters too! The book is told in first person point of view (except the Prologue) which is Lennie’s. It has its set of remarkable characters, the crew of Wilted Rose, they all have a very good deal of character development. The world building is pretty good too though it took me a while to get through the prologue of the book cause I have to put it down and pick it up for like three times and when I got through the prologue, everything started picking up and I found myself reading the book at three in the morning. The back stories of each character made me feel connected to them more, everybody’s got their own story to tell and one is worse than the other and how that brought them together and made a family or a band of misfits.

My favourite characters would be Nathaniel (he’s bae), Butch, Ned, and of course Lennie. I like the connection of the characters between each other and the kind of restraint they have on keeping themselves from saying the three cursed words, I admire these characters so much especially Ned. I also love Lennie so much because after all that she’ve been through she still has the strength to go on and fight for the people that she loved, she’s so tough and badass. Honestly, the best parts of the book is when they go to the land and all action happens. That’s when the Pirates of the Caribbean theme started playing at the back of my mind while reading those fight scenes of the book. I love the idea of other worldy magic surrounding the story and how it just take you in and immerse you in the wonderful world of Inherited.

Freedom Matthews writing style is amazing. I love the twists that she put in the book and how she knows how to torture her readers (hah!). The book is perfectly written, I was heartbroken (in a good way, Booklanders, in a good way) and I can’t wait to read more of her work. I really hope that there will be a lil’ novella after this, it doesn’t need to be a full throttle novel. Just a little peek on what happened to my beloved band of misfit.

I rate it:
Ratings - Copy (4)
add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton


Watch the Book Trailer

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Inherited (Curse of VIII #1)

Leave a Reply

