Adventure · book review · Fantasy · Historical · Romance · Young Adult

Book Review: Forever Doon (Doon #4)

27779008Author: Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon
Format: eARC
Publisher: Blink
Number of Pages: 384
Date Published: August 2 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance


Synopsis

With the witch of Doon on the throne, Jamie believed dead, and Duncan and Mackenna trapped in Alloway, Veronica has no choice but to put her grief aside and prepare her remaining followers for the impending battle against the false queen and her forces. But while on a covert mission to steal a powerful elixir from the castle, Veronica discovers her true love may actually be alive, and fighting a battle of his own.

With the Brig o’ Doon destroyed and the portal fragmented, Doon’s forces are not only divided, but also isolated in different dimensions. With the help of a storyteller as ancient as the witch herself, Kenna and Duncan learn they must rebuild the bridge to have any chance of crossing back into Doon with their ragtag army. But when Mackenna insists on fighting as well, Duncan soon realizes the only way he can ensure her safety is to turn her into a cold-hearted killer.

For Vee, Jamie, Kenna, and Duncan, saving their kingdom while keeping their lives intact will take a miracle.


Before we go to the review and discussion of the book, let’s all appreciate the full-on cover of the beautiful ‘Forever Doon’!

forever-doon-cover

Such beauty eh?Now, to the review we go! Quick reminder that I got the eARC from NetGalley, so there might be some changes in the finished/final copy of the book.

sticker20-20ng20member20-prof20reader

My review

Forever Doon is one satisfying and lovely read, after I finished reading the book the only thing I can do is sigh because its just oh so amazing. The book is told in four POVs of our four main characters Vee, Kenna, Jamie and Duncan.

We started off two weeks or so after the freaking witch, Addie, took over DoonDoon which, for me, is the darkest part of the book. We have Veronica and other Doonians grieving for the loss of the people they love who are either dead or in the modern world then we have MacKenna and Duncan in the modern world trying to find a way to get back to Doon and Jamie, oh Jamie… The things that he’s been through made cringed and cry because that little cinnamon roll didn’t deserved what that witch did to him! It’s that time in the book that made me wanna jump inside it to comfort the big four and strangle Addie. Those scenes in the book are all amazingly written and hits me right in the feels.

Aside from the parts that are so dark, there are a lot of things that I really loved in the book so I’m gonna go and count them up. (Warning! Mild spoilers.)

First is the modern world references like Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Twilight and even Nike there also might be some Marvel too. I love the part where Jamie and Duncan were in the battle together and Jaime threw that ‘I can take down more skellies than you’ which is so straight out of the LOTR that all I can do is giggle. Second thing that I love about the book is the bond between Vee and Kenna and Jamie and Duncan. The BFF bond between Vee and Kenna is a strong one and we’ve witnessed it since the first book but the bromance of the MacCrae brothers is just wow. I was actually worried when Vee and Jamie had a glitch in their relationship because *ahem* Ewan *ahem* but eventually things worked out between them which brings us to the third thing that I so love about this book. The third thing that I love in Forever Doon in the handfasting ceremony that took place between Jamie and Vee, tears were streaming from my eyes when I was reading that part because from how Jamie described Vee and told that part, wow, you can tell how in love he is with Vee. And the fourth thing that I really loved about the book is how the authors brought new Destined from all around the globe! There’s Indian, Russian, Filipino, African and so on. I love how it became the way of the authors to reach out to their readers all over the world that if they can’t go to their country for a book signing tour, they’ll just bring them to Doon through writing. Lovely.

Another thing that made me go ‘Whatda–?’ is the back story of the brothers Jeremiah and Ezekiel. The thing that they’ve been through gives me the chills and made me think of those people who could’ve been experiencing right now what the brothers have experienced. 

The book is just over all amazing, I can’t wait for the finished/ final copy of the book to be released. The writing is fantastic, the world is fascinating, the characters are truly remarkable, and the ending is so satisfying you can actually tell that the authors are big fans of happy endings. I’m proud to say that I don’t mind reading the book again and again and I swear when I have  children of my own, this book series will be one of the bed time stories I will read to them.So wonderful.

I rate the book:
Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy
add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton

One thought on “Book Review: Forever Doon (Doon #4)

Leave a Reply

