Adventure · book review · Fantasy · Myth · Romance · Thriller · Young Adult

Book Review: Demigods and Monsters (Sphinx #2)

Demigods and Monsters cover 1Author: Raye Wagner
Format: eARC
Genre: Mythology, Young Adult
Number of Pages: 273
Date Published: April 25 2016
Order you copy: Amazon|Book Depository|Barnes & Noble


IMG_20160721_171259

Can Apollo’s curse be broken?

Seventeen-year-old Hope Nicholas is done running. Apollo’s curse has ruled her entire life, limiting her choices and robbing her of the things that matter most. But she refuses to live in fear any longer. In fact, she’s ready to do whatever it takes to break the god’s power over her existence.

When the goddess Artemis instructs Hope to impersonate a demigod and infiltrate a conservatory to get access to the Olympian library, she doesn’t hesitate. As she sees it, there’s nothing left to lose.

But once inside, Hope discovers the only way to get what she needs is to work with her sworn enemies. As the lines between demigod and monster are crossed again and again, Hope has to dig deep for the courage to accept her fate or fight for the freedom to save herself.

Demigods and Monsters is the second book in the Sphinx series.

82c0a-addtogoodreads


IMG_20160721_171325

First of I wanna send my massive thanks to Sara Meadows and Raye Wagner for the honor of letting me be part of the launching team!

This book is A++mazing! I really loved reading it. The book is fast-paced and intense though it took a little bit to pick up the pace because the first three chapters are a bit slow. But then when you involved the demigods in the scene, that’s where all the stuff start going down.

Its just so good, especially when we were introduced to the character of Xan. He’s a bit, no a huge, of a jerk to begin with but he started to grow on me when he mentored Hope. The difference that I notice in this book, comparing to The Curse of the Sphinx, is that Hope is not having her countdown on how many days left before she change. There is still but it isn’t too out there for its thrilling enough not to be caught as a monster in the conservatory so we don’t need to add that time of the month countdown to make us more nervous. I also liked it that we didn’t dwell much in the potential love triangle between Hope, Athan and Xan. And speaking of Athan and Xan, there’s too much history between those two immortal demigods that makes me wanna grab the next book! Mysteries and intrigues *rubs palms together*. I don’t trust Priska, there’s a lot of things she’s not telling Hope, one moment she’s all okay with the plan of the demigods finding them and then the next she’s shooing them away from Hope. What is it with demigods and their secrets, I guess immortality does that to a person.

Athan, wow I love him. I can’t believe Xan is in the cover and not him, I hope in the next book he’ll be in the cover ;). Athan might have his reputation with all the female demigods that he brought in the conservatory in the past, being a sweet talker that he is but then he found Hope and whoo seems like he has found his match. I like Dahlia, her romantic back story made me tear up a little plus she’s cool. Those sons of Apollo are plain assholes but I think Endy is better than them its just that maybe because he wants to be part of the Sunshine clique he’s acting that way. Maybe. Also I felt bad for Hope when she’s hurting because of Athan, it’s like I wanna reach out to her and pat her on the back and whisper “Girl, I know how ye feel.”

I could keep going but I know I’ll end up spoiling the best parts so I’ll just leave it to you to read the book.

All in all, the book is amazing and bad ass I ended up loving Hope even more. The writing is good and the development of the newly introduced characters are great, you guys if you haven’t read the book yet I suggest you do.

RATINGS:
Ratings - Copy (4)

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Demigods and Monsters (Sphinx #2)

Leave a Reply

