book review · Fiction · Gothic · High Fantasy · Horror · Paranormal · Sci Fi · Thriller · Young Adult

Book Review: A Night Without Stars

20654223Author: J. A. Eaton
Format: eBook
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal
Number of Pages: 266
Date Published: July 04 2014
Order your copy: Amazon


IMG_20160721_171259

You might know vampires…but you don’t know Lola.

Sixteen-year-old Lola Sanchez is no hero. Snarky, rebellious, and completely fed up with her life, she has one goal: graduate high school and get the hell out of her small hometown. Until a night of terror and bloodshed changes everything…forever.

Now the only thing Lola wants to do is survive. But how can she survive when everything she knows has been destroyed and the one person she thought she could trust ends up being the most dangerous person of all?

82c0a-addtogoodreads


IMG_20160721_171325

(Note: I received a review copy of the book in exchange of an honest review)  

Okay, this book change the way I see vampire novels! I’m not a big fan of vamp-books (except for Richelle Mead books) because of all the cliche’ that’s going on in there but oh wow, A Night Without Stars just change my mind! This is my kind of vampire book, I love the concept, I love the story world and most of all, I love the main character Lola.

Lola’s character is so kickass and badass, also add smart mouthed that there are times when I think that she’s breaking the fourth wall and talking to the readers because she has a strong voice. I love how she isn’t your usual human girl/ damsel in distress in most vampire novels, the girl seriously know how to take care of herself. At some point, Lola and her bff Travis reminds me a lot of myself and my best friend, who is also a guy, when it comes to the recklessness and adrenaline junkie factor. There are times when I feel bad for her especially in her family history but proud of her at the same time because she got through it all. I also liked the fact that the author didn’t throw any romance and tried to make it work in the span of three days (book’s timeline) even though the chemistry between Lola and Maximus is there, I’m glad to know that Lola assumed it was just her teenage hormones instead of love because that would be bleh.

I love the book! Wow, I can’t believe I said that to a vampire book that isn’t in the Vampire Academy world. There are a lot of vampire books in the YA literature these days that makes its all seemed like it has the same plot line that’s why I’m so glad to know that A Night Without Stars exists. A new shade to throw to all those vamp-novels! Oh, that cliff hanger! Gosh I need the second book now! I can’t believe it isn’t out yet, but we’ll watch out for that. And if you haven’t read this book yet, I suggest you do because the thrill that you’ll experience while reading the book is oh so awesome.

 

I rate it:
Ratings - Copy (4)

Leave a Reply

