book tour · Dystopia · Fiction · Oftomes publishing · Romance · Sci Fi · Young Adult

Blog Tour: New World: Ashes (Q&A + Review)

banner-1

NEW WOLRD ASHES smAuthor: Jennifer Wilson
Publication Date: June 2 2016
Publisher: Oftomes Publishing
Genres: Action, Dystopia, Young Adult
Format: eBook (ARC)


Synopsis

After Phoenix, a 17-year-old orphan rogue, sacrifices herself for her loved ones, her world again takes an unexpected turn. She may have forgotten her past, but it hasn’t forgotten her. A war is coming and her role in it will be pivotal.

That is… if she survives.

“The much-anticipated sequel to New World: Rising.

The Anticipated sequel to


About the Author

unnamed

As a child Jennifer loved getting lost in the stories of others, but struggled greatly with reading. A notoriously slow reader who stumbled with words and spelling, Jennifer shied away from books, leaning heavily on musical theater and movies to get her inspirational fix.

It was not until in her mid-teens, when a persistent friend convinced her to read the Harry Potter series, that Jennifer found her love for the written word. J.K. Rowling’s books opened doors not only to the fascinating world of a young wizard, but to a life filled with a multitude of literary friends and fantastical worlds. Once a timid reader, Jennifer now devours books and loves getting lost in a new series.

When Jennifer is not writing, she is enjoying life in Colorado, rock climbing, camping, exploring new foods, playing with her golden retriever, Duke, and sharing her life with her handsome and wonderfully supportive husband.

Visit her: Author Website
fb_icon_325x325 unnamed Twitter_logo download


banner-2

Author Q&A

with

Jennifer Wilson

 

Its always an amazing experience as blogger to interact with the authors who’s books have blown my mind, that’s why I’m oh so glad when I finally receive the answers on the Q&A questions that I’ve sent to Jennifer Wilson, the phenomenal author of the New World series! So without any further a do, here goes the Q&A with the amazing Jennifer Wilson!  

•Describe your book in ten words.
Rising– Dark, gritty, cruel, fast-paced, promising, passionate, action-packed, cunning, shocking and heartbreaking.
Ashes– Surprising, intense, frightening, deceptive, alarming, illusionary, honest, gut-wrenching, haunting and otherworldly.
•When did you realize that you wanted to be a writer?
I have always loved the idea of writing, but never thought it was something I could do. I was a terrible speller, a painfully slow reader and had some issues with Dyslexia. It wasn’t until my early twenties that I stopped saying “I can’t” and started doing it. I have been writing with fervent passion every since. Sometimes we are the biggest thing holding ourselves back.
•What was the hardest part of writing New World Rising?
The worst parts for me were the scenes with Maddox. Even as his creator, he made my skin crawl. Just writing the shower scene made me extremely uncomfortable, but that was the point. It is always hard to get into the mindset of your less like-able characters, I would be lying if I said it didn’t take a little toll. Often after writing scenes that are emotionally hard I tend to take a break with a bowl of ice cream and settle in to watch something happy.
How did you get yourself to write on days when you don’t feel like it?
I usually put on some music and workout for a bit. I make soundtracks for every book I write and turn to them when I need to feel re-inspired. If that doesn’t work, generally getting my blood pumping helps my brain fire up. But honestly, there are some days when nothing comes and you just have to take a break. Staring at a keyboard for hours with no ideas earns you nothing but frustration, which isn’t worth it. Besides, often if I give up and go run errands, I will get hit with a great idea mid buying groceries.
When you start a novel, which do you think comes first— the plot or the characters?
Great question! Honestly, either one. New World Rising was based around Phoenix, but another series I have been working on was based on the plot first. I will be honest though, as your characters develop they can often cause the plot to change and vice versa.
•New World Rising has amazingly crafted story world, do you have any advice on the story world building?
Okay, this is going to be a longer answer… It is not everyday that you get to create a world from nothing, that you get to let your imaginary wiles run free and the end result is a fictitious world your readers will dream of being a part of. Yet, as said so many times before, with all greatness comes great responsibility. Your characters can make readers fall in love, burn with hate and thrive with hope, but if their setting is not believable all that hard work can fall apart. 
The world you create is the foundation for your story, and as when building all things, if the foundation is weak so will be everything else built upon it. Great books are not just about storyline or characters. They are a blissful combination of many things, but it is their world that becomes the glue binding it together.
Every interaction, every character choice and personality trait can be driven by the world you create. Bella and Edward’s romance wouldn’t have been so dreamy in some Midwest cornfield and Harry Potter would have been far less impressive if he never got out from the cupboard under the stairs. Think of your favorite book. When you close your eyes, you can see not only the characters’ faces, but also everything that surrounds them. You can hear what they hear, see what they see, and above all else, you can believe that world exists.
In many cases this means making rules for your world and staying true to them.  Either people can fly or they can’t, the sky can be blue or red, weapons can be new age or old school. Just make sure when you create your book’s world, you stay true to your own rules. If you don’t believe certain things could happen, then neither will anyone else. Creating an in-depth world can mean the difference between merely piquing your readers’ interest and drawing them in so deeply that they are standing next to your protagonists as they fight for their lives or fall in love.
•Who are your top 5 female characters?
Only five?!
Lisbeth Salander
Hazel Grace Lancaster
Katniss Everdeen 
Clary Fray
Bellatrix Lestrange (No, not because I’m evil, but because she is such a well developed character. You can’t help but hate her with a fiery passion.) 
Do note very close on that list are: Hermione Granger, Skeeter Phelan, Mare Barrow, Cinder, Professor McGonagall, Claire Fraser and Adelina Amouteru.
 
•Imagine a zombie apocalypse happened, the object in your right is going to be the weapon that will save your life. What is it and how long do you think you’ll last?
Haha! I love this! Well, if it was the object I currently have in my right hand I would be screwed…  as it is a blue and red holiday mug. I would only last about a minute with that guy. If I had a choice as to the object… I would choose to be holding the keys to a solar-powered tank. Is that cheating though since it doesn’t exist? If so, then I choose Rick Grimes’ hand. He defiantly knows hows to survive a zombi apocalypse. With him I would say give or take ten years.
•How do you deal with negative feedbacks?
When writing a book, authors pour their heart and soul into it. So a bad review always cuts deeply, no matter how hard you try not to let it. I firmly believe in everyone having the right to his or her own opinions and being able to speak freely, but unfortunately, there are often people who confuse being honest with being cruel. I take each one with a grain of salt. The beautiful part of being human is that we are all entitled to our own opinions. So I must respect that not everyone will like my work. If you get a bad review, see if anything can be learned from it and move on. You can’t please everyone, but honestly I have stopped reading any reviews 3 stars and under for my own sanity. Fortunately, it’s the fans who love your books that keep you writing and inspired. Usually about the time you are ready to give up, some amazing fan will write a review that makes your heart soar and reminds you why you started writing in the first place. 
Any advice to the aspiring writers?
Don’t get discouraged. For that one spectacular “yes”, you might hear fifty “no’s”. And that’s okay! Sadly the book industry is not always about great stories and fabulous writing—it is also about trends, monetary potential, what an agent is looking for to fill their quotas, and sometimes just plain ol’ bad timing. If someone turns you down, be sad for about five minutes, then pick yourself and move on to you next option. My books were turned down by a great deal of agents before I decided to self-publish. But it was that step of self-publishing that later introduced me to Ben and Oftomes Publishing. It took over two years and a lot of hard work, but it was worth it.
If you choose to self-publish, make it the best version of your book you possibly can. Put together a Beta Group to help with spelling, grammar and storyline. (Friends and family are great, plus they will usually do it for a pizza and wine night.) Hire an editor, cover designer and format the interior of your book. These little things will go a long way. Many of my initial fans read the books strictly based on the cover design, remember that first impression is SO important.
Don’t quit your day job! Most authors work other jobs to pay the bills while they are waiting for their books to take off. Generally, first time authors don’t become popular over night. It can take up to three years after they are first published for their books to become popular.
Lastly, you should always be your biggest advocate. Talk about your books, believe in yourself and put yourself out there. Get to know your potential fans, introduce yourself to bloggers, and send out complementary review copies (do note not every review will be positive, but that’s okay too). If being an author is your dream, don’t take “no” for an answer. Sometimes that first spectacular “yes” needs to come from you.

My review

 New World: Ashes opened up on where we left off in the New World: Rising. The first chapter of the book took a hold of me eventually that whoa, there’s no putting this book down ’til I finish reading. The writing is so fantastic that had me on the edge of my seat and cringing. Yes, cringing because I felt like I am also enduring the tortures that Phoenix is going through. That is what you call an outstanding writing. It’s like the mix of The Hunger Games and Divergent but so more. Second books in a series, especially in a trilogy, but this one really made its mark. Such an amazing book, great plot, awesome character development. You guys need to read this! When I was in the middle part of the book, I waited for it to “drag” but it didn’t, it had me holding on to every scene and look forward on what’s gonna happen next.
I love Phoenix’s character. She’s independent, she’s strong, and I’m just so proud of her. I also felt bad at some point because when she and her friends are inside the Wall, the people who knew her and her parents when they were there are telling her some stuff about her but she just can’t remember. There are a lot of WTF moments that the book have, especially in the revelations of her past. I’ve had emotional breakdowns because of those things that she have been through and almost made me cry when they rescued her from the claws of the minister.
I’m glad for Phoenix when she found her anchor in Triven and Mouse that no matter how many times she try to think that she’s alone, the emotional tether that she has with the two are pulling her back and making her tougher. The book introduced more characters to love (Ryker! Yay! I’m worried about you, where is book three!) and hate. Speaking of Ryker, whoa, he’s so #sorrynotsorry. Just wanna throw it out there that even though I saw it coming, I never actually thought he’d do it.
Over all, the book is pheno-minazing, the writing is fantastic and so kick ass, action-packed, and fast-paced. I recommend you guys to read this bad ass book.
I rate it:
Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy - Copy
add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton
OUT07.06.2016_Was I escaping or avenging__
Leave a Reply

