Action · Adventure · book review · Fantasy · Myth · Romance · Young Adult

Book Review: Rebel of the Sands

24934065Author: Alwyn Hamilton
Format: eBook
Genre: Young Adult, Adventure
Number of Pages: 314
Date Published: March 08 2016
Order your copy: Amazon|Kobo|Barnes & Noble|Book Depository|iTunes


IMG_20160721_171259She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him… or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

82c0a-addtogoodreads


 My review

 Rebel in the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton is a phenomena! Its a book that tackles not only the magic and mythology of the story world but also different social problems like sexism, poverty, and rebellion (obvs), typical middle eastern dilemmas where women can’t lead and are considered less. Oh that marriage thing too, it bothers me how Amani’s own uncle wants to wed just just so she can be added to hie list of wives. I loved the book even though half of the names of the characters in this book I can’t pronounce. There are also mythologies in the book that made me thought that maybe the author is foreshadowing some of the events that’s gonna happen in the book, that maybe it has the likes with those myths that Amani and Jin was told.

I loved the strong female lead, Amani, her smart mouth and stubbornness, her quick wit and badassery. I actually had some crackpot theories about her character while I was reading the book and oh, glad that “that one” can into my mind that I cant help but clap when it was confirmed. I also like the character of Jin, I’ve also had my theories in his character but when the real him was reveal, man I didn’t see that one coming. I actually thought Jin is also a Djinni, because of his name and foreign looks but I was wrong. The rebel camp is so cool, it is literally composed of the band of misfits.
There’s a lot of build up in the book, a lot of action scenes, surprises and a little sprinkle of romance but that time when I reached the end, all I could say was “That’s it?”. I feel like there’s should be more in this book but hey, this is just the first one and it seems like it’s all on world building.

I was about to give the book and 3.75 but that thing that Amani did in the sand, whoa man and also I love the adventure that I go through while reading the book! Imma gonna give ye a glittering four stars.

I rate it:
Ratings - Copy (4)

Leave a Reply

