Fantasy · Gothic · Paranormal · Young Adult

Book Review: Children Shouldn’t Play With Dead Things (Dead Things #1)

25986688Author: Martina McAtee
Format: Kindle Edition
Publisher:
Number of Pages: 510
Date Published: August 31 2015


Synopsis

17 year old Ember Denning has made an art of isolating herself. She prefers the dead. She spends her days skipping school in old cemeteries and her nights hiding from her alcoholic father at the funeral home where she works. When her own father dies, Ember learns her whole life is a lie. Standing in the cemetery that’s been her sanctuary, she’s threatened by the most beautiful boy she’s ever seen and rescued by two people who claim to be her family. They say she’s special, that she has a supernatural gift like them…they just don’t know exactly what it is.

They take her to a small Florida town, where Ember’s life takes a turn for the weird. She’s living with her reaper cousins, an orphaned werewolf pack, a faery and a human genius. Ember’s powers are growing stronger, morphing into something bigger than anything anybody anticipated. Ember has questions but nobody has answers. Nobody knows what she is. They only know her mysterious magical gift is trying to kill them and that beautiful dangerous boy from the cemetery may be the only thing standing between her and death.

As Ember’s talents are revealed so are the secrets her father hid and those in power who would seek to destroy her. What’s worse, saving Ember has put her cousins in danger and turned her friend’s lives upside down. Ember must learn to embrace her magic or risk losing the family she’s pieced together.


My review

Okay, before anything else, let’s go take a look at that cover. Go on, scroll up and admire the beauty of that alluring, upside-down graveyard with a redhead on the swing cover. So pretty right?

Children Shouldn’t Play With Dead Things (that’s a mouthful) is a dark, funny, intriguing, heart-breaking and admirably satisfying read. The story can go from “Oh okay, new world and fun and games” to “Holy crap that happened! Whoa, wow!”. Yep, it escalates so quickly. I fell in love with the book because of the pretty cover though I’m still unsure of the story until I get to read it. And I instantly fell in love with the characters and world. Everything is wonderfully written, the world and the characters are all well presented to the readers. The book is so fascinating that instead of keeping up with the read a long that is three chapters a day (Yes, there’s a read a long. Go visit the author’s IG account, there’s also some amazon gift card giveaway so go check it out now), I sped through the book. The book has that darkness in it that has a compelling effect to the readers not to put it down unless you are done reading because it’s just so amazing! It has werewolves, reapers, faeries, demons, sluahg, reanimators, zombies, necromancers. This book has every bit of paranormal that if you’re a fan of Teen Wolf or Supernatural I highly recommend this for you to read.

Speaking of the characters there are four POVs in the book which as Ember’s, Mace’s, Kai’s and Tristin’s. The development of the characters as the plot progresses are admirable and the way that they present the story through their POV is impressive. They are the children that plays with the dead things. Remember when I mentioned a necromancer and zombie? Yeah, you get the idea

I instantly fell in love with Kai the first moment I laid my eyes in him, well, in his POV. My most favourite scene is that time when he was being introduced to the readers and Kai and Rhys had this exchange; Kai: You suck. Rhys: You wish. That throw me into a fit of giggles. I love the development of his relationship with Rhys and when their ship has finally sailed, it was all I can do not scream “whoop!” in the middle of the night.

I also love Tristin’s character, she’s independent and strong though sometimes I wanna slap the crap out of her for building that wall around her heart that she couldn’t even ley Quinn in ’til its too late. I’m a bit annoyed at her but she still yet to grow on me. 

Ember, I do adore her character because she’s the reason why the book caught my attention in the first place. She’s a graveyard girl, likes to hang out with the dead but not in a creepy way, well, kind of. Her character development is amazing though at the end of the book she’s still a damsel in distress… who don’t actually need saving for she got the shit handled. My heart ached for when when she found out the back story about the father that she hated for most of her life.

Oh and Mace! My gosh I love that cocky son of a gun. He’s,as far as I think, manipulative (almost everybody actually) and arrogant. I eventually got attached to his character because of his alluring effect. That thing that happened to him at the end of the book broke my heart into million tiny bits but that resolve at the final page put it all perfectly back together.

When the light has finally shone in some of the shady things in the book, I was all  “Oh okay” because its insane that I know more than the characters in the book and I get to watch them struggle to find the answers because they are keeping secrets form each other but there’s a lot of things still needed to be uncovered so I need the next book in my hands! We still don’t know  the back story of Neoma, our dear sweet faerie, there’s still an uncle Alex, and a body to find *winks*.

Amazing amazing book you guys, I rarely give perfect stars to a first book in a series but  Children Shouldn’t Play with Dead Things deserves the perfect stars because of that satisfying ending the author gave us. 

I rate it:
Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy - Copy
add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Children Shouldn’t Play With Dead Things (Dead Things #1)

    1. I hope you’ll fall in love with the book as muh as I did! The story is so amazing, also the author is so nice. You should connect with her sometime ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

