Adventure · Fantasy · High Fantasy · Myth · Paranormal · Romance · Urban Fantasy · Young Adult

Book Review: Curse of the Sphinx

26207970Author: Raye Wagner
Format: Kindle Edition
Publisher:
Date Published: August 11 2015
Number of Pages:344


Synopsis

Seventeen year-old Hope Nicholas has spent her entire life on the run. But no one is chasing her. In fact, no one even knows she exists. With her mom, she’s traveled from town to town and school to school, barely staying long enough to meet anyone, let alone make friends. And she’ll have to keep it that way. It’s safer.

When her mother is brutally ripped away from her, Hope’s life shatters. Is this the fulfillment of Apollo’s curse, murder from the shadow monsters of the Underworld, or have the demigods finally found her? Orphaned and alone, Hope flees again, but this time there’s no one to teach her who to trust—or how to love.

Set in a universe where mythology is alive and well in the modern world, Curse of the Sphinx irresistibly blends action, suspense and romance.


My review

Curse of the Sphinx by Raye Wagner is one amazing, fun, bad-ass, and romantic read. Its the book that I’ve been looking for to plunge me back to the world of Greek Gods and monsters since last year. I am so in love with the book and the story.When I started reading the book, well is took a while to immerse in the world but damn, the next thing I know is that its already 3am and I finished reading the Curse of the Sphinx. This may sound a mega cliche’ but the book is really good and very unputdownable. I’ll always enjoy a story of Greek mythology set in the modern world.

That time after the mother, Leto, died and fulfilled the the curse and told them about the daughter who is also a sphinx well heck this is when the crap will start to go down. Then we have Hope, the typical extraordinary main character who just wants to be normal, I like her character because she’s strong and at some point she’s kind of level headed in things but sometimes I think she’s a bit of a naive. But that rejection that she recived from Sarah and Paul really hurts. I love the character of Mr. Stanley, he’s so nice and I’m glad Hope’s got somebody to talk to when she was just forst adjusting in Goldendale. Oh and Athan, sweet talker and just smooth. I love him. That part when a new friend Hayley mentioned that there is a conservatory for the demigods to protect them from the Skia, at the back of my mind there’s a voice screaming “Camp Half-Blood!”. Just a total fun read. Oh, I don’t like the part where Krista was being the usual high school queen bee, like seriously Krista, get out of the picture! There’s already enough drama and complication in Hope’s life and we don’t need you to add on to it. I don’t like Krista but I congratulate Raye for creating her because I have someone to hate in the book :). 

*Okay so this part is a bit spoilery*

So there’s this WTF moment when Hope and Athan found out about their true identities of one another, I was all like “WTF Athan, why are you surprised?!”. Turns out he don’t know what the little Sphinx actually looks like, like, come on Athan. He was tasked to burn Hope’s house down but before that, Hermes already asked him to go find the Sphinx’s daughter. Didn’t he even thought about looking for a family picture in the house before burning it down so that he’ll have any leads or know who he’ll be looking for? But anyways, the boxes might’ve been packed already so maybe I missed that part. Maybe not knowing Hope’s appearance is actually an upside to Hope because Apollo just sent his golden trio sons in Goldendale. Gods, I need the next book. Anyways, that’s all that I can say for now. The book is very promising so far and made me hungrily look forward for the next book.

I rate it:
Ratings - Copy (4)
add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Curse of the Sphinx

Leave a Reply

