Action · Adventure · Book Stuff · Dystopia · Oftomes publishing · Young Adult

Book Review: New World: Rising

27268998Author: Jennifer Wilson
Format: Kindle Edition
Publisher: Oftomes Publishing
Number of Pages: 206
Date Published: January 5 2016


 

Synopsis

Since witnessing her parents’ murders at the age of eleven, Phoenix’s only purpose in life has been to uphold her mother’s dying words- to be strong and survive. But surviving outside of The Walls- outside of The Sanctuary- is more like a drawn-out death sentence. A cruel and ruthless city, Tartarus is run by the Tribes whose motto is simple, “Join or die.”

Refusing to join and determined to live, Phoenix fights to survive in this savage world. But who can she trust, when no one can be trusted? Not even herself.


 

My review

New World: Rising by Jennifer Wilson is a fast-paced, action-packed, fairly unpredictable, and an awesome read. Its so brutal and bloody, that kind of dystopia novel where you don’t know where to expect. The world is perfectly crafted with all those tribes and all. Its not hard to imagine the world and is one of the best dystopia novels that I’ve ever get to read. Rising is like the mix of The Hunger Games and Divergent because of the idea of “Join or Die” where you have to belong somewhere to survive for it is really hard to survive alone.

I am truly amazed at the character of Phoenix, she’s so strong and really bad ass. You know, if I ever witnessed my parents get murdered, I’ll probably break down and cry then slowly turn crazy but Phoenix, wow… six years and she’s still alive making some allies on the way. Her character development is really amazing, unpredictable and pretty relatable. I’m very glad that she found an anchor in Mouse and Triven, though she kind of scares me at some point when she looses control because of that traumatic childhood. And oh my gosh Triven, I know there’s something about that kid but that big reveal, damn I never saw coming. The only thing that I saw coming on Phoenix was her romance/ love interest, like every time she mentions a boy that is good looking enough I’m all like “this might be him”. Phoenix’s love for books and book sniffing made me love her so much! She felt like a real person in those part when she talks about books and discuss them with Triven, oh and I want Triven’s room!

The book have a lot of “Wait what?!” moment that I reallly really love. There are still a lot of unexplored factors in this book, there’s probably back stories to deal with, that’s why I’m so looking forward for the next book. I recommend this to everyone and even if you don’t like to read dystopian books, you might just fall in love with it because of this book.

I rate it:
Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy

add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton


Watch the Book Trailer

One thought on “Book Review: New World: Rising

Leave a Reply

