Adult · Adventure · Historical · Time Travel

Book Review: Outlander (Outlander #1)

21532133Author: Diana Gabaldon
Format: MMPB (TV Tie-in Ed.)
Publisher: Dell Books
No. of Pages: 850
DatePublished: July 1 2014


 

Synopsis

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon—when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord . . . 1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life . . . and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire . . . and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.


My review

Wow, this book is just plainly amazing! You know when you read a book and all of a sudden it got a hold of you, fully possessing your soul, and have you insanely immersed in its world? Well, its this book! Outlander!

I’m always a big fan of historical fiction but my gosh, Outlander is not what I expected. The first three chapters are a bit slow, it took me three tries to get through chapter 1 and after that, everything started to get exciting. Looking a the physical book, I was so scared to read it thinking I might get bored and not finish it. I mean its a massive book! More than 800 pages! (stating a fact there). But like I said, the book took my soul and I succeeded on finishing the book.

The world is a bit confusing at first. The whole concept of clan and its members, at the first half of the book I was “who’s who” but as I go on reading, I slowly catch up on the stuff. I like the character of Claire a lot, I admire her strength, her intelligence. Its great how she use her knowledge on medicine to save her neck, and Jamie’s, multiple times. I still haven’t pictured  Claire in her full attractiveness level for in the book, its either guys wanna marry her then fuck her or fuck her then kill her. I like her character development, specially when she asked to be taught how to fight and oh her ‘struggle’! That struggle is she really want to go back to Frank in 1945 or stay with Jamie in 1743. And I so dig the person she chose to stay with.

Jamie Fraser. He’s the ultimate book boyfriend. Remember when I said the book is oh so long? Well its so worth it because of Jamie; he’s nice, protective, loving, anything you could ask for a guy. His relationship with his sister is real cute, his stubbornness and sass are just uhg!, his upbringing was so great I salute his parents especially his dad. But under all those awesomeness and amazingness of James Alexander Malcolm MacKenzie Farser, he’s a broken boy. Imagine being flogged at  the age 18, ouch, then that dearding page! 721! Unbelievable! It cuts my soul especially when he’s already talking about it and telling all the things Jack Randal did to him, ugh! I am hurting for you Jamie! Its like I wanna jump inside the book and strangle Jack Randall myself. Jesus H. Roosevelt Christ!

The book is over all amazing and, I’m not gonna lie, those sex scenes of Jamie and Claire also had me aroused. Oh! speaking of sex scenes, if you are fourteen I don’t think you are going to appreciate this book as much as you will when you read it at the age of seventeen. There’s also politics in this book that might have you confused at times. But hey, if you’re fourteen and open minded and smart… maybe you’ll get a grasp of this adult book real well, plus you’ll learn a lot about the history of Scotland. So yeah,  great book, astounding writing, fascinating world and characters; I think this boo k is going to be one of my all time favourites!

I rate it:
image

Leave a Reply

