Adventure · Fantasy · Fiction · Mystery · Myth · Romance · Young Adult

Book Review: Talon (Talon #1)

17331828Author: Julie Kagawa
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
No. of Pages: 449
Date Published: October 28 2014


Synopsis

Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they’re positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother known to dragonkind. Trained to infiltrate society, Ember wants to live the teen experience and enjoy a summer of freedom before taking her destined place in Talon. But destiny is a matter of perspective, and a rogue dragon will soon challenge everything Ember has been taught. As Ember struggles to accept her future, she and her brother are hunted by the Order of St. George.

Soldier Garret Xavier Sebastian has a mission to seek and destroy all dragons, and Talon’s newest recruits in particular. But he cannot kill unless he is certain he has found his prey: and nothing is certain about Ember Hill. Faced with Ember’s bravery, confidence and all-too-human desires, Garret begins to question everything that the Order has ingrained in him: and what he might be willing to give up to find the truth about dragons.


My review

The book has been A++mazing. It had me at the edge of my seat the whole time I was reading it. The book is phenomenazing! Just look at the beautiful shiny cover!

What I love about this book is the excitement it gave me when the characters will reveal their true selves to the other characters and how much crazy that will be for them. Even before reading the book, I know I am going to love it. Not because it was written by Julie Kagawa, no, but because it has dragons in it! But it turns out that Julie Kagawa has ‘this’ writing style that can have readers fully immersed in her world after a few paragraphs.

I love the characters of Ember and Garrett, they are both new to normal. I love the rebellious attitude and curiosity of Ember, she’s so bad ass and so is her self fitting ***er suit! (censored for it may be a spoiler 😉 ). Also, I am so in love with the G double B also known as Riley/ Cobalt. Gaahh so hawt!

The romance in this book so great, I think we’ll have a more effective love triangle in the next book because in Talon, we have only scratched the surface. While Garrett and Ember’s ship is filled with feelings and emotions, Riley/Cobalt and Ember’s are pure dragon insict (their dragons calling on each other!). I’m just so glad and satisfied that I’ve picked it up and read it! Second book of 2016 and whoo! SO great!

I rate it:
Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy - Copy

download download (2) download download (1) download

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Talon (Talon #1)

  1. I am a huge, huge fan of Julie Kagawa. Her The Iron Fey books are my all-time favorites, and I’ve been meaning to read more of her work, but unfortunately, haven’t been able to. I really enjoyed reading your review, and I’m glad you liked this book.

    P.S. Hi. I’m from the Philippines as well. Pretty new to blogging and all (I just started like 2 weeks ago???). I was hoping we could be friends, if you’d like. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! I’m yet to read it Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series, its always everywhere every time I went into any local bookstore 🙂
      . And of course, I’d like to be friends with you 😊

      Like

      1. Julie Kagawa also has books about vampires, they say is better than Twilight and Evernight… I’m having second thoughts on checking out those 😊

        Like

      2. Oh! You mean The Immortal Rules? I haven’t read that either. But I’ve been dying to check it out. It sounds pretty promising. 😊 I haven’t read Evernight but I’m not a fan of Twilight. Haha.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

