Action · Adventure · Fairy Tale Retelling · Fantasy · Romance · Young Adult

Book Review: The Wicked Will Rise (Dorothy Must Die #2)

18602341 Author: Danielle Paige
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Harper Teen
Number of Pages: 293
Date Published: March 31 2015


 

Synopsis

My name is Amy Gumm—and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

After a tornado swept through my trailer park, I ended up in Oz. But it wasn’t like the Oz I knew from books and movies. Dorothy had returned, but she was now a ruthless dictator. Glinda could no longer be called the Good Witch. And the Wicked Witches who were left? They’d joined forces as the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked, and they wanted to recruit me.

My mission? Kill Dorothy.

Except my job as assassin didn’t work out as planned. Dorothy is still alive. The Order has vanished. And the home I couldn’t wait to leave behind might be in danger.

But in a place where the line between good and evil shifts with a strong gust of wind… who am I supposed to trust? And who is actually Wicked?

Find Dorothy.

Destroy the Yellow Brick Road.

Save her home.


 

My review

The second book of Danielle Paige’s Dorothy Must Die series is, like the first one, mind-blowing and so action packed! The book is filled of plot-twists that unfailingly excites the reader and made me nervous every time I turn the next page.

I love Amy so much! Her character development is really amazing, filled with self-discovery. The book itself is very empowering. But at some, no most, parts of the book I am pretty scared for her because there may be a chance that she will be pulled in to total darkness and wickedness. Remember when I said that Dorothy Must Die is some twisted and scary fairy tale re-telling on my review on the first book? Yeah, well this book up-ed the level; The main character is turning dark and wicked. Oh, and speaking of wicked, a line from the book again reminded me about The Maze Runner even though both books’ genre being different from one another. It’s somewhere in page 44 about being scared. Oh, and I so love Queen Lulu, the monkey’s sass queen, I’m so happy when she and Amy net again before the book ended.

The book blew me away especially in the last few chapters, I was reading it in the middle of the night and I just screamed at it (I won’t tell which part) because of full frustration on what just happened and I ended up waking the whole household. The cliff hanger is just so grrr! I need my hands on the third book already, such beauty Danielle Paige. You know how to drive your readers crazy! The boys at this book is a mega wow. Nox, I really hope you will keep the darkness that is consuming Amy away. I also love how the author put a gay character in the book, I so appreciate the diversity and the avoidance of some complicated love triangle. Yay!

The synopsis at the back of the book is kind of misleading to me especially the “Save her home.” part.  actually thought they will come back to Dusty Acres, Kansas and Amy will get a full closure with her mom, you know, some heart-to-heart thing. But it didn’t happen, though in a last few chapters the stuff like:  Find Dorothy. Destroy the Yellow Brick Road. Save her home. did happen at some point. But all in all, I enjoyed and loved reading The Wicked Will Rise and I can’t wait to get mu hands all over the third book. For now, I’ll have to hit the nearest local bookstore and get a copy of Dorothy Must Die stories to keep the book’s feels and hangover at bay.

I rate the book:

Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy - Copy

download download (2)  download download (1) download

 

 

Leave a Reply

