Anthology · Fiction · Thriller · Young Adult

Book Review: Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

19364719Author: Various Authors (Stories Selected by April Genevieve Tucholke)
Format: eBook
Publisher: Dial Book
Number of Pages: 400
Date Published: August 18 2015


Synopsis 

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters


My review

This book is the very first anthology that I’ve get to read and I must say, it’s oh so good and real scary! The stories have the 80’s and 90’s horro movie vibe that I really love. All of the authors have written a real scare worthy short story that are so believable it took me three days to finish the book because no way I’ll be reading it in the dark.

I really got nothing else to say about this book because all the best authors of these days YA Lit have joined forces and have written a bone chilling anthology of horror short stories. But my favorites will be: Jay Kristoff’sSleepless“, April Genevieve Tucholke’s “The Flicker, the Fingers, the Beat, the Sigh”, Marie Lu’s “The Girl Without a Face” and A.G. Howard’s “Stitches”. Those stories are the ones that disturbed me the most, like whoa, there’s more to these stories.

So I’m just gonna rate each story in this anthology because wow, just wow.

Nova Ren Suma’s “The Birds of Azalea Street” 3.5 stars
Carrie Ryan’s “In the Forest Dark and Deep” 4 stars
Cat Winters’ “Emmeline” 4 stars
Leigh Bardugo’s “Verse Chorus Verse” 4 stars
Megan Shepherd’s “Hide and Seek” 5 stars
Danielle Paige’s “The Dark, Scary Parts and All” 3.5 stars
April Genevieve Tucholke’s “The Flicker, the Fingers, the Beat, the Sigh” 4.5 stars
Jonathan Maberry’s “Fat Girl with a Knife” 3 stars
Jay Kristoff’s “Sleepless” 4.5 stars
Stefan Bachman’s “M” 3.5 stars
Marie Lu’s “The Girl Without a Face” 4.5 stars
McCormick Templeman’s “A Girl Who Dreamed of Snow” 3.5 stars
A.G. Howard’s “Stitches” 5 stars
Kendare Blake “On the I-5” 4 stars

Over all, I rate it:

 Ratings - Copy (4)

add-to-goodreads-button31

Amazon | IndieBoundBarnes & Noble

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s