Fantasy · Fiction · Myth · Romance · Urban Fantasy · Young Adult

Book Review: Ungodly

23847966Author: Kendare Blake
Format: Paperback
Publisher: TOR Teen
Number of Pages: 363
Date Published: September 22 2015


Synopsis 

As ancient immortals are left reeling, a modern Athena and Hermes search the world for answers in the final Goddess War novel by the acclaimed author of Anna Dressed in Blood

For the Goddess of Wisdom, what Athena didn’t know could fill a book. That’s what Ares said.

So she was wrong about some things. So the assault on Olympus left them beaten and scattered and possibly dead. So they have to fight the Fates themselves, who, it turns out, are the source of the gods’ illness. And sure, Athena is stuck in the underworld, holding the body of the only hero she has ever loved.

But Hermes is still topside, trying to power up Andie and Henry before he runs out of time and dies, or the Fates arrive to eat their faces.

And Cassandra is up there somewhere too. On a quest for death. With the god of death.

Just because things haven’t gone exactly according to plan, it doesn’t mean they’ve lost. They’ve only mostly lost. And there’s a big difference.


My review

Wow, just wow. This book… my gods Kendare Blake hands down to you! You are a living legend in the world of YA Lit, the legendary author who know how to totally mess up with readers feels and emotions and knows how to make her readers hold their breath every time they read the next sentence, turn the next page, and look forward to the next chapter.

I love how Blake wrapped up the series with this book. The intensity of the scenes are almost unbearable that I have to stop reading and breath, it’s so fast-paced and action packed, sometimes frightening and overall amazing! There are no boring scenes in this book, it got me hooked til the very last page. I like how the characters struggle against themselves, against the enemy, against their feelings. I love watching all those gods squirm and loose hope while Cassandra rages and be the gods’ killing machine that she is. Whoa, that ending was so gruesome… So many graphic violence in this book, so bloody I love it!

I’m so nervous when I started reading the book, I mean this is Kendare Blake people, we don’t know what she’ll do with her characters. Will she kill that one to make this one suffer but stronger? Is she gonna throw a plot twist in this peaceful scene? She’s unpredictable like that.

I never actually thought how much I enjoyed and loved having Hermes in the story until the point where he’s already so close to dying. And oohh, for some reason I find Thanatos a total hottie even though he’s like real cold, and he kind of reminded me of Noah Shaw because of his appearance. But anyways, I love how everything turn out in the end especially for Athena. Cassandra, I’m so happy for her and so proud for staying so strong. Those two are really amazing characters.

There’s also this “This is the last book, but wait… there’s more.” element in Ungodly. That there are still some unsolved cases in the story (I’m looking at you Achilles), but hey this is Kendare Blake, you know how she drove the readers crazy asking for another Anna book.

I rate it:
Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy - Copy

add-to-goodreads-button31

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Indie Bound | National Bookstore 

Leave a Reply

