Contemporary · Mystery · Romance · Thriller · Young Adult

Don’t Look Back Book Review

18296030Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Format: Paperpack
Publisher: Hyperion
Release Date: April 15th 2014


Synopsis

Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it’s one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took “mean girl” to a whole new level, and it’s clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She’s getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she’s falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn’t just buried deep inside of Sam’s memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?


My review

Don’t Look Back is MIND-BLOWING!

Read the book in just one sitting because I was very intrigue the moment I read the tagline; “You wont like what you find “. It stirred my curiosity in all level and had me guessing who the killer is up until the end, I mean I had my finger pointed at someone but then I turned to be wrong. The book totally reminded me of the first season of Pretty Little Liars and the movie Prom Night because of some of the whole someone is watching me thing and murder stuff.

Samantha, I was kind of afraid of her character because at some point I think she’s really losing, kinda reminds me of Mara Dyer with all those PTSD and hallucinations and stuff. She’s also funny especially on the part when she saw Carson Ortiz for the ‘second-first-time” and describe him as a baby-making material. Really? That single sentence proves the gorgeousness and hotness lever of Carson to be on a highest level. I also like her character development and self-discovery as the plot progresses and how she actually disliked her old self before the amnesia.

I don’t like how rich people act. Seriously, they are so afraid of the gossips that might come out about them and have a bad reputation, makes you wanna be something that you’re not. I don’t blame Sam for acting bitchy for the past five or six year because I think she’s pressured by her mom to be perf and it also has something to do with the people she hang outs with. Oh, and her feelings with Carson… The attraction is there for a very long time but the status is the great hindrance for the possible perfect relationship of Carson and Sam. After reading this book, I decided that I frickin’ hate social status. I like how the plot of the story unravels as we get closer on who Cassie’s killer is and I made go “WHAAAATTT?” when the killer was revealed.

The book is amazing, it won’t let you put it down unless you’re reached the end and find out who the killer is. I thought JLA’s gift extends only to paranormal stuff and swoon worthy books but no, she totally rocked writing psycho-thrillers that had the readers on the edge of their seats, clutching the book and not putting it down unless you get to find out what actually happened and the mystery unveiled.

BONUS: Remember Mrs. Cleo from The Dark Elements and how she’s just gone ad replaced by a sub, well you’ll find out where she went when you read this book. I even told Jennifer about it and here’s what she said:

capture-20150830-080453

I rate it:

Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy - Copy

add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton

Leave a Reply

