Action · Fantasy · Paranormal · Romance · Young Adult

White Hot Kiss Book Review

18006096Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Release Date: February 25th 2014


Synopsis

One kiss could be the last

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she’s anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she’s crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she’s not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn’t an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she’s the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.


My review

White Hot Kiss had me hooked the moment I read its first sentence. It was such a satisfying read and Jennifer L. Armentrout never failed to made me swoon over the male characters in this book especially over Roth. Like whoa, what is it with tall, dark-haired, handsome, sarcastic, and arrogant boys that made me g weak on the knees. I’ve read tons of books that deals with angels and demons but haven’t yet the ones that has gargoyles in it so I was so intrigue about it, and when I read the book, Jennifer L. Armentrout definitely didn’t disappoint.

I like how strong Layla’s character is, she reminded me of Kat from Jennifer’s Lux series but a little more bad ass version.  Layla has this urge to find where she belong and who and what sh actually is since on the place where she grew up, with the Wardens/gargoyles, no one failed to remind her what she is, a hybrid. I feel bad for her not being able to kiss a boy, then the oh-so-sexy Roth came along and her world flipped. I like how she struggles with her feelings with Roth since the two of them has no label of what kind of relationship they actually have and with Zayne, her Warder best friend whom she grew up with and has a crush on since forever. There was this time when my heart was wrecked for her when she discovered her parentage especially on the side of her Warden father. When Abbot dropped the bomb on who her dad is, I was all like: “whoa, what a asshole!”. To have her daydreams on what kind of Warden her father is and see it crash down was too much. Her relationship with Zayne, I’m yet to see it develop and I’m looking forward on how this undiscovered romance between them is going to bloom. Oh, and Roth, he and Layla have this undeniable chemistry and intensity in their romance that is why my heart is severely wrecked with what JLA did with him in the end. There’s also her struggle with the sucking other’s soul and trying to bury the demon side of her deep down, I’m looking forward on how she’s gonna accept that part of her. There’s a lot of world building and character development in the book and everything turned our really amazing and I’m looking forward on reading the next installment.

Jennifer L. Armentrout works her magic with the swoon worthy lead male characters that are just Roth-tastic and ama-Zayne and never fail to make me go weal on the knees (have I said that already?)

The book is an awesome filled with magic, drama, comedy, and action. Such a fun and satisfying read. And I would like to recommend to everyone and I’m going to sell this book to everyone with just one word… Roth.

I rate this:

Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy - Copy

add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton

Leave a Reply

