Adventure · Fantasy · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Shades of Doon Book Review

23433222Author: Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon
Format: ARC – eCopy
Publisher: Blink
Release Date: September 1st 2015


Synopsis

After cheating death, Veronica Welling is determined to savor every moment in her idyllic kingdom with both her true love and best friend by her side at last. At the same time, Mackenna Reid is enthusiastically building her new life and a theater with her prince. But just as their dreams of happiness are within reach, the world Vee and Kenna have chosen is ripped away, leaving them to face their most horrific challenge yet—their old lives.

Thrust out of Doon, the best friends are confronted with tormentors from their past and no way to return to their adopted land. When the MacCrae brothers rush to their rescue, the girls’ situation turns from nightmare to modern-day fairy tale. But their happiness could be short lived: unbeknownst to them, someone in their closest circle is aiding the witch of Doon in her bid to destroy the kingdom once and for all.

Release Date: September 1 2015


My review

First of all, I want to send my thanks to Christelle Lujan for sending me a link of the book from NetGalley. Thank you for giving me a chance to read and review this amazing book of Doon.

Oh Doon. This book is one real roller coaster ride! Why? Because it is filled with different kinds and level of emotion and all of that exist in every chapter, you have this heart-warming beginning on on chapter ending in this thrilling and what-the-hell-is-going-on moment then vice versa in the next chapter. It was such an amazing and satisfying read, it made me crave for more Doon! The writing is fantastic, it’s always like the latest book is better than the last one and it never fail to blew my mind. Every time I read a new book from Doon series, I always expect it to either blew my mind or wreck my heart that would undoubtedly freak me out and ask for the next installment immediately! I’m just so happy that my fear about some voodoo happening in Shades of Doon didn’t actually happen. I had this theory about when when the two saw some voodoo dolls in the witch’s cottage and Vee’s chunk of hair taken by the zombie row, but yeah, thank the Protector there’s none.

Hands down to Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon, you ladies are the Queens!

I love when they put some pop culture in it especially when they mentioned Pretty Little Liars, I also loved and at some point unliked it when they got thrown back to their old lives, but the beautiful thing about it is that they get to deal with the loose ends of their old lives especially on Vee’s relationship unstable with her mom. I don’t know about Kenna since she still got stuff to deal with her dad ( I guess we’ll about that in the next book, yep… more Doon! Big hugs everyone!). Speaking of dads, what the heck is wrong with Vee’s father, I hope we’ll get enlightened in the next book and close the matters that Vee has with her dad because he’s the sole reason why she built those walls around her. Oh gosh having Jamie in the modern world was epic, I really loved the part when he and Vee rubbed it in Stephanie’s face what an adorable and real couple the two of them are. Duncan, being the amazing boyfriend that he is, fits perfectly in the modern world, but we all know he belongs in Doon. Imagine crossing paths with the MacCrae brothers. And that ending made me go whoa. I’ve shed my tears already, I really hope things will be okay in the end and we’ll be finally getting rid of Addie.

I recommend this book to every one! Cross the bridge and join us as we journey the mystical world of Doon because you read it once, you fall in love forever.

I rate it:

Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy

add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton

6 thoughts on “Shades of Doon Book Review

  1. I loved mixes of modern day and crossover to a fantasy or historical world. This book sounds great and very emotionally engaging! Thanks for sharing your thoughts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

