Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

Dumplin’ Book Review

18304322Author: Julie Murphy
Format: ARC e-format
Publisher: HarperCollins Publisher
Release Date: Spetember 15th 2015


Synopsis

Self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson (dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom) has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . . until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Clover City beauty pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.

With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine— Dumplin’ is guaranteed to steal your heart.


My review

First off, I wanna say thanks to whoever e-mailed me this ARC copy of Dumplin’. The book is yet to be released on September 15 2015

Oh my gosh, this book is love! I think I’ve finally found a book for me, especially when I saw the dedication that it is dedicated to fat bottomed girls. I know I say this to a lot of books I’ve read before but I’m gonna say it to this one too, I related to this book a lot! This is the most relate-able book I’ve ever read so far, seconds to All The Bright Places, from the body description of the Willowdean to her attitude, everything! I saw myself in her.

The book is so entertaining, empowering, fun and humorous. There’s never a boring moment in the story of Willowdean. Murphy’s writing is phenomenal, those who haven’t read her books are definitely missing one of of the most promising writer’s in the YA Lit. I like how everything is so real, from the bullies to the body shamers, from outgrowing friendships to falling back together again, and from the fear of being loved because of your appearance to taking pride in it and just letting it be. I like Will’s inner dialogue, but the thing that I kind of not like about her is that she can’t see what an amazing person she is no matter the body shape she’s in. She can’t get it to the relationship with the gorgeous Bo because she’s afraid what other people will say. We all go through that phase but c’mon Will, you have to take the risks especially when it comes to the boy you’re crushing for a long time and is now so into you. Also, I don’t like Will’s mom and how she lacks on being a mom to her. I was actually wondering if only Willowdean has that skinny type body, would her mom show her off and make her join that goddamn pageant? Probably? OMG! Buys like Bo Larson really needed to exist in real life, seriously. 

I like how Will became an inspiration to other like her, with flawless flaws, without her even knowing it and her strong friendship with Ellen. This book is so amazing, I recommend this to everyone out there. To those fat-bottomed girls who aren’t really confident with their bodies, to the pretenders who keep hiding who they really are and those who keep burying the person they want to be deep down. This book is for you, it definitely make you come out of your shell and you’ll love how life will actually happen.

I rate it:

Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy

add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton

2 thoughts on “Dumplin’ Book Review

Leave a Reply

