Fantasy · Fiction · High Fantasy · Romance · Young Adult

The Heart of Betrayal Book Review

 21569527Author: Mary E. Pearson

Format: eBook

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.


Synopsis

Intrigue abounds in this hotly anticipated sequel to The Kiss of Deception!

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save her life, Lia’s erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar’s interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: there’s Rafe, who lied to Lia, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be barbarians. Now that she lives amongst them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country… and her own destiny.

My review

I have high expectations on this book. I was hoping that it will be as mind-blowing as the first one because whoa, The Kiss of Deception has set the bars on this series where its played with my mind and my emotions and reaping my heart out when Mary E. Pearson dropped the bomb. This book though not as crazy as the first one and not as mind blowing but the revelations and character development especially on the part of Lia made up for it. I like how she gets stronger and skilled in the art of deception as the book progresses. The Lia on the first book is very different in the Lia of the second book. I like how we go deeper in the world and we get to see Venda.

In this book Mary E. Pearson proved the quotation “Wealth can be hidden but poverty can never be,” true. Rafe’s character he can easily dropped his title as a prince and pretend to be an emissary with just some few calculated lies, while the poverty that happens in the streets of Venda  cannot be hidden. What the other kingdoms call barbaric are Vendans struggling for survival and food in their bellies. Romance is not the center of this book but the characters fulfilling their destinies, arising to power and getting tougher as the book goes on. I like how Lia seized some control with the power in Venda and it all started with the prayers that she sent to the people she loves. How ironic it is for hoer to be running away from her own wedding and be abducted and brought to a kingdom where she was offered the same thing as levereage for her and Rafe’s survival. There’s also still a loy of betrayals and deception in this book that make things exciting for the reader.

There are parts when I go “oohh!”, “No way!” and “OMG!” when some part were explained especially when Rafe choked on the apple that he’s eating when Kaden returned to Venda along with the ‘new’ governor that he’s supposed to meet on the road. Kaden, so devoted with Lia. I was shocked when he told his backstory and the thing that Lia found out about him at the end of the book. 

I enjoyed reading this book, though I feel a bit bad because it didn’t blew my mind the way the first one did. It also took me  while to finish the book because of my busy schedule but all the time it took me to finish the book was worth it because it was such a satisfying read. I wonder if in the third Remnant book we’ll be exploring the kingdom of Dalbreck, Rafe home. I’ll be looking forward for it on the next book.

I rate it:

Ratings - Copy (3)

add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton

Leave a Reply

