Adventure · Fantasy · Sci Fi · Young Adult

Shadow and Bone Book Review

shadow-and-bone_hi-res-677x1024Author: Leigh Bardugo

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company


Shadow and Bone is the first book of Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy. It centers on the life of an orphan girl named Alina Starkov, a map maker on the First Army along with her best friend Malyen Orestev who is a very skilled tracker. Her life changed the day they crossed the Unsea along with other soldiers of the First Army and some Grisha. Alina released a power she never thought she has and turns out to be a Grisha herself. The Darkling, whom she is drawn to, told her that she’s a Sun Summoner and asked for her help to end the Shadow Fold. Little did Alina know, darker things are in stored for her.

Shadow and Bone. I stayed away from this series before, though I didn’t know why. The title is enough to intrigue me and there’s a lot of hype going about the book. Now that I’ve finally read it, I finally saw what I’ve been missing. The book is such a great and satisfying read, fast-paced and fascinating. I love Alina, watching her grow and learn to harness her powers. She has a strong voice; I like how she describes every detail. I’m looking forward on how she’s gonna master her Grisha power as a Sun Summoner now that she got her amplifier and her romance with Mal will grow so as her undecided feeling for the Darkling.

What I also liked about this book is that everyone seems too good to be true that you don’t know who is the right person to trust. Leigh Bardugo’s writing is benign and captivating, she created this alluring world and mesmerizing characters that made me not put down the book right from the moment I started reading it. The ending is satisfying but still not enough that is why I am looking forward on reading the next book and where Alina’s plan to end the Shadow Fold will lead her. You guys, if you haven’t read the book yet you better pick it up and read it now.

I rate it:

Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy

add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton

Leave a Reply

