Fantasy · Romance · Sci Fi · Young Adult

These Broken Stars Book Review

13138635Author: Aime Kaufman and Megan Spooner

Format: Hardbound

Publisher: Disney Hyperion


How do I even begin to describe this book? It’s amazing and cruel, it’s wonderful and torturous, over all beautiful. It has this mystery that kept me flippin’ through the pages and a fascinating romance. I like how the characters worked out their differences that made them understand each other more. I also like how Tarver and Lilac leans and clings to each other in order to survive the terreformed planet that no matter how many times they want to get rid of one another, that just can’t. The fall of the Icarus reminded me of Titanic, the whole time I was reading the book I was picturing Rose and Jack in my head. There are also a lot of mind blowing scenes in this book that made me go: “Whoa! No way! That’s kinda cruel!”(If you’ve read the book, you’ll know what those scenes are).

I love the sci-fi, alternate galaxy concept of this book. It’s cool on how earthen companies found a way to give life to other planets in the universe. There’s this hint of creepiness that definitely stirred my curiosity, it made me wonder if the characters are going crazy and hallucinating or whatever. Another thing that hooked my interest in this book is the snippets of Tarver’s interogetion, there are times when I got nervous about the next chapter because of an interrogation snippet. There are aspects of this book that I haven’t fully grasp most especially the ones about ‘the whispers’. I also didn’t get fully immersed in world, not until I’m already halfway through it. But when I noticed that I’m almost at the end, I really wish I won’t reach the end yet because things keeps getting better and better. I like how thing worked out between Tarver and Lilac, both of the characters have strong voice and well created. I also like how we get to see in both of the characters point of view. They’re both family oriented, they both have masks to keep on, they both have bad experiences in their own lives. Throw two different people together with the same problems in an unexpected situation and witness amazing it will be if the two worked out their differences and succumb to their feelings.

Over all, it’s and amazing, amazing book. I recommend this to everyone! And even if you’re not fans of Sci-Fi, you sure will start to be one.

I rate it:

Ratings - Copy (4)

add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton

Leave a Reply

