Fantasy · Fiction · High Fantasy · Paranormal · Romance · Urban Fantasy · Young Adult

Daughter of Smoke and Bone Book Review

6a00d8341c630a53ef0154384c655f970c-320wiAuthor: Laini Taylor

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers


This book is so amazingly mind blowing. I have never encountered anything like this before, Laini Taylor’s writing is so beautiful and all I want to do is to swim in her words. The world is unique and weird. I find it hard to immerse myself in the world of Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I was already on chapter 10 and I still hasn’t fully grasp it but at the moment that I did, there’s no letting go anymore. The story is told in multiple point of views that made me excited and look forward on how the worlds of these characters will intersect or meet.

Karou is the story’s main character. She was raise by these weird creatures called the chimeras. She’s a mystery herself because she doesn’t know anything about her past or who her parents are or where did the chimeras got the orphaned Karou baby. The story is so mysterious and weird that if I ever tell you more, it’ll ruin the air of mystery that Daughter of Smoke and Bone possesses around it. All I can tell you is that the book is set in Prague (unique location, right?) and Karou is an artist who draws and sketches her monster friends on her sketch book. She crossed paths with Akiva while she traces the burned hand prints that seemed to threaten the creatures that Karou came to know as a her family. I like how Akiva has his own mind blowing moment in the book that just made him tear up. I would like to tell you more but I definitely love it if you discover everything about the world and the characters of Daughter of Smoke and Bone all by yourself.

It felt really good when the pieces of the puzzle all fall into place that left me going ooh-ing and aah-ing as I continue reading the book. Hands down to Laini Taylor for creating this amazing world and writing this amazing story. Beautiful!

I rate it:

Ratings - Copy (2) - Copy - Copy

add-to-goodreads-button31 amazonbutton

Leave a Reply

