Fantasy · Fiction · High Fantasy · Historical · Romance · Young Adult

The Winner’s Curse Book Review

rutkoski_winnersAuthor: Marie Rutkoski

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux


The Winner’s Curse is one of the most interesting books that I get to read this month, seconds to Snow Like Ashes. I was drawn to this book after reading few words from its synopsis and the title piked up my interest eventually, when I saw the book the I was like “What is a winner’s curse?”. Marie Rutkoski never disappointed me, first with the beautiful writing and second with the amazing plot.

The story started spinning when Kestrel stumbles in a slave auction and when she bought Arin, I already got this something’s wrong feeling when the auctioneer’s eye sweeps at Kestrel and when she bought the Herrani slave. Oh by the way, the society is divided between Valorians and Herrani. Valorians are conquerors of the Herran land that originally belonged to the Herrani, the Valorians are the governing body while the conquered Herrani became slaves in their own land. Kestrel a Valorian, Arin a Herrani. So basically Kestrel bought Arin to be a their house’s slave, but the other reason that she bought the Arin is because of the defiance that she saw in his eyes. As the plot progresses we saw the struggles of the characters of Krestel, who is asked to choose between military and marriage, and Arin, who is a spy and struggling with his loyalties to his commander. I like the character development on the book especially on Kestrel, on how strategic and manipulative she can be on dire situations. She’s a girl who knows what she wants and knows how to get it. And as for Arin, I also like his character development especially on the second half of the book.

The second half of the book really did spike things up, it is where the war strategies and tactics goes, getting to witness how Kestrel and Arin think military. The development of Kestrel and Arin’s feelings for each other is also iinteresting I like how the captive (Kestrel) struggles about her freedom and escape from her captor (Arin) on the Herrani’s rebellion on the city. I am looking forward on how the two would make their romance work on the next book.

I recommend it to everyone especially to the fans of high fantasy and also to the fans of The Game of Thrones (because it has those feels). You need to read the book, if you haven’t read it yet, and as I usually say to the awesome books that I get to read, The Winner’s Curse is one of the best ones out there.

I rate it:

Ratings - Copy (4)

7 thoughts on “The Winner’s Curse Book Review

      1. Ugh, I saw it on bookoutlet yesterday for only a couple dollars for hardback. I checked back today, and, poof, they’re sold out! T.T I knew I should have bought it when I had the chance… But thanks, it’s on my TBR!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

