Contemporary · Fiction · Romance · Young Adult

The DUFF Book Review

6931356Author: Kody Keplinger

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Little Brown/Poppy


The DUFF (Designated Ugly Fat Friend) is a one quick and fun read. I pick up the book first thing in the morning and six hours later, I’m almost at the end. I like the story because it’s so relatable and beautiful and it also proved that there is a very thin line between love and hate. There was this time when the characters mentioned Hester from the Scarlet Letter and I’m like ‘I think I know where this is going’. It also tackled the subject of dysfunctional families and how it affected teenagers and how the teens deal with it, the book is kind an eye opener for me. I related to the part where Bianca was just using Wesley and just fooling around with him with no strings attached, I also like the way Bianca dealt with the Duff label and the same with her friends. Everyone is a Duff… except Wesley. When you read the book (if you still haven’t) you’ll know.

Bianca Piper’s character is very cool, she’s a feminist, very outspoken on her opinions and she’s one of those girls who are not into parties but need to go with the flow because she doesn’t wanna make her friends feel bad but she still manage to tell them that she doesn’t like parties. Bianca’s character is a strong one, she has a very strong storytelling voice, and I love it when I read the first lines of the book and Bianca and I just clicked ‘cause I found some similarities with her. Kody Keplinger’s writing is beautiful and compelling. And speaking of compelling, let’s talk about Wesley Rush.  At the beginning of the book, Wesley is this womanizing a-hole who gave Bianca the label Duff. He’s hot and gorgeous and can make girls swoon except for Bianca, he’s arrogant and smart but he’s very understanding too and a really nice brother. Talk about the perfect painting of a playboy with a hidden good heart. He’s always ‘Wesley Rush doesn’t chase girls, girls chase him’ then Bianca came into his life and they get to understand each other more deeply then he get to say ‘Wesley Rush doesn’t chase girls, but I’m chasing you’. “You” meaning Bianca… make me wish Wesley will chase me too.

I recommend this to every reader out there who still haven’t read the book. You guys need to read The Duff, it’s an amazing book with the right amount of hilariousness and drama and it’s beautifully written. I’m sure you’re gonna love it too.

I rate it:

Ratings - Copy (3)

Leave a Reply

